Skip to main content
Cover for Beach House Reunion (The Beach House)

Beach House Reunion (The Beach House)

Mary Alice Monroe

Hardcover

List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/21/2018)
Paperback (3/26/2019)
CD-Audio (5/22/2018)
Mass Market (4/28/2020)
Hardcover, Large Print (6/27/2018)

Description

Whisking you back to the shores of her bestselling Beach House series, Mary Alice Monroe weaves together a tale of the struggles and triumphs of the historic Rutledge family of Charleston, South Carolina. Beautifully wrought and rich with keen insight, this is an illuminating tale of new beginnings, resilience, and one family’s enduring love.

Cara Rutledge returns to her Southern home on the idyllic Isle of Palms. Everything is comfortingly the same, yet each detail is rife with painful memories. Only through reconnecting with family, friends, and the rhythms of the lowcountry can Cara release the hold of the past and open herself to the possibility of a new love, career, and hope for the future.

Meanwhile, her niece Linnea, a recent college graduate who doesn’t know where her life will take her, leaves her historic home in Charleston, with all its entitlement and expectations, and heads to her aunt’s beach house. On the island, she is part of the freer, natural ocean lifestyle she loves, rejoining the turtle team, learning to surf, and falling in love. Remembering the lessons of her beloved grandmother, Lovie, the original “turtle lady,” Linnea rediscovers a meaningful purpose to her life and finds the courage she needs to break from tradition.

In this heartwarming novel, three generations of the Rutledge family gather together to find the strength, love, and commitment to break destructive family patterns and to forge new bonds that will endure long beyond one summer reunion.


Praise For Beach House Reunion (The Beach House)

“Readers . . . will be enthralled. . . . Authentic, generous, and heartfelt!” 

 
— Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of The High Tide Club

“This atmospheric novel depicts a lush sanctuary that draws in the needy and provides heartwarming inspiration.”
— Library Journal, starred review

"A beautiful novel and a fantastic read that is perfect for the start of summer."
— RT Book Reviews

“Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Kay Andrews will adore this tender and openhearted novel of familial expectations, new boundaries, and the power of forgiveness.”
— Booklist

"Monroe’s trademark mix of environmental awareness, coastal nostalgia and gentle wish fulfillment should be catnip for the hoards of recreational readers who’ve made her a New York Times best-seller."
— Wilmington Star-News

Gallery Books, 9781501193293, 400pp.

Publication Date: May 22, 2018



About the Author

Mary Alice Monroe is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty-seven books, including the bestselling The Beach House series. Monroe also writes children’s picture books, and a new middle grade fiction series called The Islanders. She is a member of the South Carolina Academy of Authors’ Hall of Fame, and her books have received numerous awards, including the South Carolina Center for the Book Award for Writing; the South Carolina Award for Literary Excellence; the SW Florida Author of Distinction Award; the RT Lifetime Achievement Award; the International Book Award for Green Fiction; the Henry Bergh Children’s Book Award; and her novel, A Lowcountry Christmas, won the prestigious Southern Prize for Fiction. The Beach House is a Hallmark Hall of Fame movie, starring Andie MacDowell. Several of her novels have been optioned for film. She is the cocreator and cohost of the weekly web show and podcast Friends & Fiction. Monroe is also an active conservationist and serves on several boards. She lives on the South Carolina coast, which is a source of inspiration for many of her books.