I Saw Him Die (Paperback)

A Novel

By Andrew Wilson

Washington Square Press, 9781501197567, 400pp.

Publication Date: July 21, 2020

List Price: 17.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“Fiendishly well-plotted, hugely entertaining.” —Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Hunting Party

In this classic whodunit filled with red herrings and double-crosses, the Queen of Crime returns in the role of sleuth as she investigates a mysterious death in the Scottish Highlands.

Bestselling novelist and part-time undercover sleuth Agatha Christie is looking forward to a bit of well-deserved rest and relaxation when her longtime friend John Davison pleads with her to help him protect a retired British agent turned hotelier who has been receiving threatening letters.

Together they travel to Dallach Lodge, a beautiful estate on Scotland’s picturesque Isle of Skye. There they insert themselves among the hotel’s illustrious guests, including members of the owner’s family, a leading lady of the theater, a brilliant botanist, a local doctor, and two sisters who coauthor romance novels. After a pleasant first evening, Agatha thinks it unlikely that any of them are capable of evil, much less murder. But early the next morning, the sound of a gunshot rings out and the hotel owner is found dead in the arms of his nephew. At first, it appears to be a simple hunting accident, but as Agatha digs deeper, she discovers that each and every one of the residents has a reason for wanting the late proprietor dead.


About the Author

Andrew Wilson is an award-winning journalist and author. His work has appeared in a wide variety of publications including the Guardian, the Washington Post, the Sunday Times, and the Smithsonian Magazine. He is the author of four acclaimed biographies, a book about the survivors of the Titanic, and the novels, The Lying Tongue, A Talent for Murder, A Different Kind of Evil, Death in a Desert Land.


Praise For I Saw Him Die: A Novel

"The plot takes multiple unexpected turns before a neat solution that pays homage to Christie’s own best fiction. Golden age fans will hope for more."
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for Death in a Desert Land

“A heart of darkness beats within this sparkling series. Fizzy with charm yet edged with menace, Andrew Wilson’s Christie novels do Dame Agatha proud. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Jacqueline Winspear.”
— A.J. Finn, internationally bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“[An] ingenious third whodunit... Wilson cleverly riffs on one of Christie’s own novels en route to a crafty and satisfying solution. Wilson strikes gold again.” 
— Publishers Weekly

"An exceptionally intricate mystery...with so much ingenuity lavished on the hyperextended finale that everyone will find something to treasure before the curtain comes down."
— Kirkus

"Beautifully written. Both lyrical and compelling. I felt as though I was walking by Agatha Christie's side"
— Jane Corry, author of My Husband’s Wife

"Fiendishly well-plotted, hugely entertaining."

 

 
— Lucy Foley, bestselling author of The Hunting Party

Praise for A Talent for Murder

“[A] twisty thriller…Wilson fully realizes the potential of this ominous setup.”
— Publishers Weekly

"The queen of crime is the central character in this audacious mystery, which reinvents the story of her mysterious disappearance with thrilling results."
— The Guardian

Praise for A Different Kind of Evil

"Stellar...a crafty whodunit worthy of the queen of mystery herself."
— Publishers Weekly

“Mystery fans who love Golden Age crime will enjoy watching Dame Agatha herself track the truth in a puzzle of someone else’s making…Readers can rejoice in the twisty plot and the curiously complex characters.”
— Booklist

“Most writers try to emulate Agatha Christie. Andrew Wilson gets inside her.  In I SAW HIM DIE, the last and best of his brilliant Christie-as-sleuth series, the only dilemma is whether to turn the page or admire the writing. And I was way off the pace with my guesswork…right to the last page…Brilliant.” —Katie Weinberg, bestselling author of The Truants