A Perfect Universe: Ten Stories (Hardcover)

Ten Stories

By Scott O'Connor

Gallery/Scout Press, 9781507204054, 256pp.

Publication Date: February 13, 2018

Advertisement

Description

From Scott O'Connor, author of Half World and Untouchable, comes a piercingly emotional, observant, and realized cycle of stories in the tradition of Jennifer Egan's A Visit From the Goon Squad and Annie Proulx's Close Range.

Welcome to the often overlooked corners of sun-bleached California, away from the Hollywood spotlight and nestled in the sometimes lush, sometimes decaying suburbs: where a teenaged bicycle thief searches for a kidnapped boy, a young musician emerges as the lone survivor of a building collapse, and the weekday routine at a neighborhood coffee shop is shattered by a deadly gang shootout. As these characters search for meaning and redemption, their lives intersect in unexpected ways, through moments of wrenching tragedy, humanity, and grace.
Advertisement