Skip to main content


Mr. Flood's Last Resort (Digital Audiobook)

A Novel

By Jess Kidd, Aoife McMahon (Narrator)

Publication Date: April 30, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (3/12/2019)
Hardcover (5/1/2018)
Compact Disc (5/1/2018)

May 2018 Indie Next List

“Jess Kidd has done it again. I absolutely loved her first book, Himself, and her latest does not disappoint. This tale of Mr. Flood and his caregiver, Maud, brings together eccentric characters, ghosts, saints, a crumbling mansion, missing children, and a suspicious suicide. It perfectly balances tragedy with dark comedy; the dialogue crackles and every detail enchants. I will miss spending time in Maud's world.”
— Kathi Kirby, Powell's Books, Inc, Portland, OR
View the List

Summer 2019 Reading Group Indie Next List

“Move over Ove, there is a new cranky old man in town. And what a feat of imagination is Mr. Cathal Flood! Swathed in layers of cardigans, he lives in a vast estate populated by cats and a pet fox named Larkin, where rooms of antique taxidermy and Victorian curiosities are barricaded by walls of ancient National Geographics and family mysteries abound. Into this situation comes Maud, a caretaker with secrets of her own and several saints literally watching over her. Magical and joyous, beautifully inventive, with sparkling dialogue and the perfect balance between dark humor and heartfelt sorrow, this book proclaims Jess Kidd (author of Himself) as a writer to cheer.”
— Yvette Olson, Magnolia's Bookstore, Seattle, WA
View the List

Description

From the award-winning author of Himself comes a spellbinding and “magically entertaining read” (Good Housekeeping, UK) about a lonely caregiver and a cranky hoarder with a house full of secrets that “will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah, as it charms and unsettles in equal measure” (BookPage).

Maud Drennan is a dedicated caregiver whose sunny disposition masks a deep sadness. A tragic childhood event left her haunted, in the company of a cast of prattling saints who pop in and out of her life like tourists. Other than visiting her agoraphobic neighbor, Maud keeps to herself, finding solace in her work and in her humble existence—until she meets Mr. Flood.

Cathal Flood is a menace by all accounts. The lone occupant of a Gothic mansion crawling with feral cats, he has been waging war against his son’s attempts to put him into an old-age home and sent his last caretaker running for the madhouse. But Maud is this impossible man’s last chance: if she can help him get the house in order, he just might be able to stay. So the unlikely pair begins to cooperate, bonding over their shared love of Irish folktales and mutual dislike of Mr. Flood’s overbearing son.

Mr. Flood’s Last Resort is “a rare delight” (Cosmopolitan, UK) examining the space between sin and sainthood, a novel that “perfectly balances tragedy with dark comedy” in which “the dialogue crackles and every detail enchants” (Shelf Awareness).​

Note to readers: In the UK, this book is published under the title The Hoarder.