The Never King (Paperback)

By James Abbott

Pan Macmillan, 9781509803118, 512pp.

Publication Date: May 1, 2018

List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Xavir Argentum is rotting in gaol. Sentenced to life in the squalor of Hell’s Keep, punishment for an atrocity he didn’t commit, the once legendary commander is all but forgotten. His elite band of warriors are dead—and the kingdom he was poised to inherit is oppressed by the tyrant who framed him. For half a decade now, Xavir has ruled nothing but a prison gang. Yet vengeance comes to those who wait. When a former spymaster infiltrates the Keep, bearing news of his old enemy’s treachery, plans are forged. A few are compelled to restore peace—an exiled queen, an outcast witch, and an unlikely alliance of rogues and heroes. But peace and vengeance make poor companions. And first, Xavir must make his escape.




About the Author

James Abbott is a pseudonym for an established author who is trying an exciting new direction.


Praise For The Never King

"Engaging heroic fantasy in the vein of Gemmell and Gwynne." —Adrian Tchaikovsky, author, Children of Time


"Flashes of Joe Abercrombie-style grit . . . it also boasts a modern sensibility: an ugly despot on the throne, religious strife, refugees, the role of propaganda . . . with likable characters and well-paced battles, it's an accomplished tale." —SFX