Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

It's a Mystery, Pig Face!

It's a Mystery, Pig Face! Cover

It's a Mystery, Pig Face!

By Wendy McLeod Macknight

Sky Pony Press, Hardcover, 9781510706217, 352pp.

Publication Date: February 7, 2017

Advertisement
Description
When anyone in town could be the culprit in a crime, summer will be anything but boring.

Eleven-year-old Tracy Munroe and her family have just gotten back from their family vacation--why did no one realize that her little brother, Lester, a.k.a. Pig Face, was allergic to sand, salt air, and the ocean before they decided to go to the beach?--and now she has three big goals to accomplish before she goes back to school:

  1. Figure out a fantastic end of summer adventure with her best friend, Ralph, budding Michelin-star chef. (And no, Ralph, perfecting a souffle does not count.)
  2. Make sure Pig Face does not tag along.
  3. Get the gorgeous new boy next door, Zach, to know she even exists.

But when Tracy and Ralph discover an envelope stuffed with money in the dugout at baseball field (and Lester forces them to let him help), they have a mystery on their hands. Did someone lose the cash? Or, did someone steal it? St. Stephens has always seemed like a quiet place to live, but soon the town is brimming with suspects.

Now they're on a hunt to discover the truth, before the trio is accused of the crime themselves.

McLeod MacKnight's debut middle grade novel is a funny, charming window into small-town life, with a focus on the importance of friendship and family and the struggle to figure out where you fit in, perfect for fans of Polly Horvath and Sarah Weeks.


About the Author
Wendy McLeod MackKnight is the former Deputy Minister of the Department of Education and Early Childhood Education in New Brunswick. She grew up in Canada with her own Ralph and Pig Face. She now lives with her family in Hanwell, New Brunswick, Canada.
Advertisement