The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy (Paperback)

By Marie Jaskulka

Sky Pony, 9781510715349, 272pp.

Publication Date: March 28, 2017

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (4/7/2015)

List Price: 8.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Forgotten Girl, a fifteen-year-old poet, is going through the most difficult time of her life—the breakup of her parents, and the paralyzing depression of her mom—when she meets Random Boy, a hot guy who, like her, feels like an outcast and secretly writes poetry to deal.

In The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy, their poems come together to tell their unique love story. The two nameless teenagers come from opposite sides of the tracks, yet they find understanding in each other when they lay bare their life stories through the poems they write and share with each other.

Through verse, they document the power of first kisses, the joy of finally having someone on their side, the devastation of jealousy, and the heartbreaking sadness of what each of them is simultaneously dealing with at home and hiding from the world. Finally they have someone to tell and somewhere to tell it in their marble notebook.

For fans of Sarah Dessen’s Dreamland and Sonya Sones’s What My Girlfriend Doesn’t Know, the story of two imperfect teens in first love who find solace in poetry.


About the Author

Marie Jaskulka taught English and honed her fiction through educational writing. She holds a BA in English from Saint Joseph’s University and an MFA in creative writing from the University of Alaska–Fairbanks. Jaskulka began writing in utero (or so it seems) and used to lie to her parents, telling them she had a ton of homework to do, so they would allow her to write instead of making her go outside to play. She resides in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.