Skip to main content
Cover for On Love and Mercy

On Love and Mercy

A Social Justice Devotional

Stephen Mattson


List Price: 21.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


A hopeful and Christ-centered devotional for Christians who know social justice to be a good and holy endeavor

On Love and Mercy is a 60-day devotional that invites readers to expand their vision of both personal faith in God and the redemptive and saving work of social action. Breaking down the premise that Christians must choose between being either socially conscious or theologically sound, author Stephen Mattson offers the hopeful message that Jesus--and Christianity--is both. Each day's entry offers Christians who long to see justice and equity within society with a much-needed source of affirmation, solidarity, and encouragement.

These heart-felt devotions bring readers hope and encouragement to embrace social justice as the Christ-like discipline that it always was and is meant to be. On Love and Mercy validates social justice practices within the Christian faith by centering the example of Jesus as the ultimate standard.

Although our religion will fail us, Jesus never will. He walks alongside us in living out God's commands us to love our neighbors to the best of our ability. Step into this journey and discover anew what it means to be devoted to Jesus and justice.

Herald Press (VA), 9781513809373, 300pp.

Publication Date: November 9, 2021

About the Author

Stephen Mattson is a writer and activist whose work has been published in Relevant, Huffington Post, Sojourners, Red Letter Christians, and a variety of other venues. Mattson graduated from Moody Bible Institute, served as a youth pastor, and now works at University of Northwestern--St. Paul. He is the author of The Great Reckoning: Surviving a Christianity That Looks Nothing Like Christ, published by Herald Press in 2018. He and his wife and children live near Saint Paul, Minnesota. His first book, The Great Reckoning: Surviving a Christianity That Looks Nothing Like Christ, released in 2018.