Wailing Wood (Paperback)

A Yarn Woman Mystery

By Brooks Mencher

Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, 9781514104576, 342pp.

Publication Date: July 28, 2015

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


A leaf-stained skull and the decomposed knitted vest of a child are discovered during a logging operation in Northern California's last virgin redwood forest - a grove of thousand-year-old trees ominously called Wailing Wood. There, the ghostly echoes of children's voices, amid the distant calls of owls, have been heard by generations of families living in the nearby logging town of Whitesboro. Textile forensics consultant Ruth M, known to law enforcement as "the Yarn Woman," is called in by the county sheriff and site archaeologist to evaluate the fabric remnants. Her investigation unearths a double murder that occurred a hundred years before, and the physical evidence eerily echoes a local ghost story about Wailing Wood. ... Is the tragic tale destined to repeat itself? The Yarn Woman is accompanied to Whitesboro and to Wailing Wood by newspaperman Nat Fisher; Mr. Kasparov, her guardian and companion since childhood; and San Francisco Police Detective William Chu.

About the Author

Brooks Mencher is a second-generation newspaper writer and editor, and author of the Yarn Woman mystery novels. He published his first mystery collection, "The Yarn Woman," in 2014, and the novel, "Wailing Wood," in 2015. He is currently working on the third book of the Yarn Woman mystery series, which chronicles the cases of the eccentric Ruth M, a textile forensics consultant.