Penelope March Is Melting (Hardcover)

By Jeffrey Michael Ruby

Delacorte Books for Young Readers, 9781524718282, 320pp.

Publication Date: November 14, 2017

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“A marvelous and magical debut!” —Pseudonymous Bosch, New York Times bestselling author of the Secret Series and the Bad Books

Perfect for summer reading, this ice-cold mystery adventure will warm your heartfor fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library!

Something sinister has come to Glacier Cove, an icy-cold town that sits on top of an iceberg  . Nothing bad ever happens here. Until now. And it's up to Penelope March to stop it. 
 
Mmm-hmm, that Penelope—the bookworm who lives in the ramshackle house with her brother, Miles. The girl with the mom who—poof!—disappeared. The one everyone ignores . . . except strange Coral Wanamaker, a tiny thing with raven-black hair and a black coat.
 
When Penelope meets someone who seems to know secrets not only about Glacier Cove but about Penelope herself, she and Miles are pulled into an ancient mystery. Together, they’ll face the coldest, cruelest enemy ever known. Looks like the girl who only reads about adventures is going to start living one.

Magic cookies! Volcanoes! Penguins! Sea monsters! And a girl hero with the strength and imagination to spring into action.


About the Author

Jeffrey Michael Ruby is the chief dining critic of Chicago magazine. He is the coauthor of Everybody Loves Pizza: The Deep Dish on America’s Favorite Food, and has also played college basketball in Ireland, assisted in an autopsy, and sumo wrestled in front of 20,000 people in New Jersey. He lives in Chicago with his wife and three children. Penelope March Is Melting is his first novel. Visit Jeffrey at jeffrubymedia.com, and @dropkickjeffy on Twitter and Instagram.


Praise For Penelope March Is Melting

"Fast-paced action scenes make this a good choice for reluctant readers as well as book-devourers like Penelope. A clever, female-led adventure about saving your home and finding yourself. Hand to fans of Chris Grabenstein and Natalie Lloyd."--Booklist

“A freezer full of tasty worldbuilding.” --Kirkus

“Fresh, unforgettable, and captivating. . . . Young readers will be mesmerized.” --Word Spelunking 

"A story about friendship, inner strength, and the knowledge that we are all capable of so much more than we think. . . . Grab a glass of turnip juice, a copy of PENELOPE MARCH IS MELTING and dive into this whimsical, sweet, beautifully written debut!" --A Backwards Story