Max and the Millions (Library Binding)

By Ross Montgomery

Wendy Lamb Books, 9781524718855, 272pp.

Publication Date: March 13, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (3/13/2018)

List Price: 19.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the vein of The Borrowers and The Indian in the Cupboard, this is an imaginative, irresistible, and incredible exploration into what happens when one boy discovers a kingdom of tiny people.

The day before summer vacation, Max's closest friend at boarding school disappears, leaving behind his amazing model collection and a handful of sand on his bedroom floor. Like Max, the eccentric janitor Mr. Darrow is a genius at building tiny models. Eight weeks later, Max finds that the sand has magically transformed into a whole desert kingdom--filled with millions of tiny people!

Max wears hearing aids, and they allow him to hear the ant-sized people. There's a boy named Luke who's about to become king. But when Max appears, he plunges their world into chaos. Luckily, Luke has two strong allies: Ivy, a fearless girl, and Luke's trusty steed--a flea.

While Max and his new friend Sasha fight to protect the Floor from their evil headmaster, Luke must fight to save it from being destroyed by all-out war.


About the Author

Ross Montgomery has worked as a pig farmer, a postman, and a primary school teacher, so writing books was the next logical step. He spent his childhood reading everything he could get his hands on, from Jacqueline Wilson to comic books, and it taught him pretty much everything that's worth knowing. If you looked through his pockets, you'd find empty potato chip packets, lists of things to do, and a bottle of that stuff you put on your nails to stop biting them. He lives in London with his girlfriend, a cat named Fun Bobby, and a cactus on every available surface. His previous books include Alex, the Dog and the Unopenable Door and The Tornado Chasers, and Perijee & Me, available from Wendy Lamb Books. Visit him online at rossmontgomery.co.uk and on Twitter at @mossmontmomery.


Praise For Max and the Millions

Praise for Perijee & Me
 
“Montgomery’s jam-packed narrative doesn’t slow for an instant in this exaggeratedly comic drama. . . . Humor carries the day.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Caitlin’s desperation for friendship is palpable, and the book powerfully conveys the longing for connection that drives her to risky actions. This British import is earnest, often quietly thoughtful, and quirky.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
 
“Elements of humor and an attractive jacket add to this chapter book’s undeniable appeal.” —Booklist
 
“A cute read for kids who like a strong dose of absurdity.” —School Library Journal