Skip to main content
Cover for Once Upon a Camel

Once Upon a Camel

Kathi Appelt, Eric Rohmann (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (9/6/2021)
Compact Disc (9/7/2021)

Description

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this exquisite middle grade novel from Newbery Honoree and National Book Award finalist Kathi Appelt follows an old camel out to save two baby kestrel chicks during a massive storm in the Texas desert— filled with over a dozen illustrations by Caldecott winner Eric Rohmann.

Zada is a camel with a treasure trove of stories to tell. She’s won camel races for the royal Pasha of Smyrna, crossed treacherous oceans to new land, led army missions with her best camel friend by her side, and outsmarted a far too pompous mountain lion.

But those stories were from before. Now, Zada wanders the desert as the last camel in Texas. But she’s not alone. Two tiny kestrel chicks are nestled in the fluff of fur between her ears—kee-killy-keeing for their missing parents—and a dust storm the size of a mountain is taking Zada on one more grand adventure. And it could lead to this achy old camel’s most brilliant story yet.


Praise For Once Upon a Camel

"Hearts will grow fond of this wise old camel; she is a bright star."
— Kirkus Reviews

"An unconventional ode to the beauty of found families and the power in our stories."
— Booklist STARRED Review

"Appelt’s celebration of owning one’s history proves both empowering and entertaining."
— Publisher Weekly

Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books, 9781534406438, 336pp.

Publication Date: September 7, 2021



About the Author

Kathi Appelt is the author of the Newbery Honoree, National Book Award finalist, and bestselling The Underneath as well as the National Book Award finalist The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man SwampMaybe a Fox (with Alison McGhee), Keeper, and many picture books including Counting Crows and Max Attacks. She has two grown children and lives in College Station, Texas, with her husband. Visit her at KathiAppelt.com.

Eric Rohmann is the Caldecott Medal–winning illustrator of My Friend Rabbit and received a Caldecott Honor for Time Flies. He has both written and illustrated numerous books for children, including Bulldozer’s Big Day, Honeybee, and most recently Bulldozer’s Christmas Dig, all written by Candace Fleming. He lives in Oak Park, Illinois.