Skip to main content


The Monster Squad (Junior Monster Scouts #1)

Joe McGee, Ethan Long (Illustrator)

Paperback

List Price: 5.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (9/3/2019)

Description

Get to know the Junior Monster Scouts in this first book in a brand-new chapter book series that’s perfect for fans of Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol and Hotel Transylvania!

Wolfy, Franky, and Vampyra—the children of the classic monsters—are Junior Monster Scouts. And even though ‘monster’ is their middle name, these funny fiends just want to help anybody in need, earn their Junior Monster Scout merit badges, and make friends. But, their good deeds are always foiled by Baron Von Grump, a cranky schemer who doesn’t like noise, doesn’t like kids, and most of all doesn’t like the Junior Monster Scouts.

Peter Piper’s kitten Shadow is lost deep in The Gloomy Forest, and the Scouts want to help their new friend. But today is also the Village Cheese Festival and all of the celebrating has Baron Von Grump at wits’ end. How can he play his violin in peace if the villagers are making such a racket? He hatches a cheesy plan that involves huge and hungry rats! Uh-oh! Can the Scouts save the cats, the rats, and the day?

Aladdin, 9781534436763, 112pp.

Publication Date: September 3, 2019



About the Author

Joe McGee loves to write about monsters and magic and other strange, curious, and quirky things. He grew up with his nose in a book and his imagination exploring other worlds. He knew when he was ten years old that one day he would grow up to be an author! He has an MFA in writing for children and young adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and an MFA in writing from Rowan University. Joe teaches at Sierra Nevada University’s low-residency MFA program and English at Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College. He is a former Army officer and lives in the mountains of West Virginia with his wife (also a children’s author) Jessica Rinker. 

Ethan Long is the acclaimed author and illustrator of many books for children, among them the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award winner Up, Tall, and High. He is also the creator of the animated, Emmy-nominated series Tasty Time with ZeFronk, which aired on Disney Junior.