Shatter the Sky (Hardcover)

By Rebecca Kim Wells

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 9781534437906, 304pp.

Publication Date: July 30, 2019

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A determined young woman sets out to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend by stealing a dragon from the corrupt emperor in this stunning fantasy debut that’s perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren dreams only of sharing a quiet life with her girlfriend Kaia—until the day Kaia is abducted by the Aurati, prophetic agents of the emperor, and forced to join their ranks. Desperate to save her, Maren hatches a plan to steal one of the emperor’s coveted dragons and storm the Aurati stronghold.

If Maren is to have any hope of succeeding, she must become an apprentice to the Aromatory—the emperor’s mysterious dragon trainer. But Maren is unprepared for the dangerous secrets she uncovers: rumors of a lost prince, a brewing rebellion, and a prophecy that threatens to shatter the empire itself. Not to mention the strange dreams she’s been having about a beast deep underground…

With time running out, can Maren survive long enough to rescue Kaia from impending death? Or could it be that Maren is destined for something greater than she could have ever imagined?


About the Author

Rebecca Kim Wells grew up in California before moving east in search of crisp autumns and snowy winters. When not writing, she works at a fiercely independent bookstore in Massachusetts and spends too much time singing along to musicals. Shatter the Sky is her debut novel. Learn more at RebeccaWellsWrites.com.


Praise For Shatter the Sky

"In Shatter the Sky, Rebecca Kim Wells has created a fierce, brave, stalwart protagonist and a full-realized fantasy world reminiscent of writers like Tamora Pierce and Robin McKinley, all infused with intersectionality, feminism, and, of course, dragons. This is a fairytale for people who have never seen themselves in fairytales before. Anne McCaffrey for the next generation, and I absolutely devoured it."
— Mackenzi Lee, bestselling author of THE GENTLEMAN'S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE

"Rebecca Kim Wells' debut combines epic storytelling and inclusive worldbuilding to create a novel that feels both timeless and timely. Come for the dragons; stay for the exhilarating ending that will have you eagerly awaiting the sequel."
— Melissa Bashardoust, author of GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS

"Quiet homebody Maren determines to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend by stealing an imprisoned dragon – and compelling, engrossing fantasy ensues. Thoughtful world-building and seamless writing ground this adventure story that ultimately asks the question: What makes a hero? I’ll be watching for Rebecca Wells’s next book."
— Nancy Werlin, bestselling, award-winning author of IMPOSSIBLE