Skip to main content
Cover for The Little Grey Girl (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book Two)

The Little Grey Girl (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book Two)

Celine Kiernan


List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (1/26/2021)


In the second book of the Wild Magic trilogy, courageous young Mup and her family are trying to heal and restore the kingdom when they uncover an ancient and powerful anger.

The old queen and her raggedy witches have fled Witches Borough, and Mup’s family has moved into the cold, newly empty castle. But the queen’s legacy lingers in the fear and mistrust of her former subjects and in the memories that live in the castle’s very walls. While Mup’s mam tries to restore balance to a formerly oppressed world, Mup herself tries to settle into her strange new home with her dad, Tipper, and Crow. When an enchanted snow blankets the castle, Mup’s family is cut off from the rest of the kingdom, and the painful memories of the old queen’s victims begin to take form, thanks to a ghost whose power may be too much for even Mup and Mam to handle. Celine Kiernan weaves a timely and essential truth into the second book of her trilogy: that dismantling oppression means honoring the pains of the past, and perhaps the most potent magic of all is encouraging joy and hope wherever possible.

Praise For The Little Grey Girl (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book Two)

In this sequel to Begone the Raggedy Witches (2018) Kiernan digs into the trope of the fairy-tale ending to expose its messy tangle of roots. There is admirable trust placed in readers to grapple alongside Mup with both her desire to end a kingdom's suffering and the complex processes of bearing witness and healing...consistent characterization and thoughtful development continues. A breath-stealing second installment to read and reread in anticipation of the third.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A strong and satisfying follow-up that continues to explore timely, real-world issues in a highly engaging fantasy setting.
—School Library Journal

A stunning tale of family and friendship with themes of oppression, new beginnings, bravery, and hope.
—Booklist Online

Candlewick, 9781536201512, 224pp.

Publication Date: September 3, 2019

About the Author

Celine Kiernan is the award-winning author of several novels for young people, including Into the Grey, which won the Children’s Books Ireland's Book of the Year Award, the Moorehawke trilogy, and Begone the Raggedy Witches, the first book in the Wild Magic trilogy. Celine Kiernan lives in Ireland.