Framed (Hardcover)

By S. L. McInnis

Grand Central Publishing, 9781538732090, 336pp.

Publication Date: February 4, 2020

List Price: 28.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

How much can you trust your closest friend?

Beth Montgomery seems to have the perfect life: a beautiful house in the hills above Los Angeles, a handsome, ambitious husband, and plans of starting a family. So it doesn't occur to her to worry when the news breaks of a quadruple homicide across town, a botched drug deal that leaves an undercover officer among the dead. Beth certainly would never think to tie the murders to the sudden reappearance in her life of wild, sexy Cassie Ogilvy, the estranged best friend she hasn't seen since they were college roommates.

As Cassie confidently settles into Beth's new life, making herself comfortable not only in Beth's guestroom but with her husband as well, it becomes increasingly clear that her old friend has a lot to hide. But it isn't until a shocking late-night phone call, and Cassie's even more startling disappearance, that Beth begins to understand that her world, as she knew it, is gone forever.

Unfurling over the span of three fraught, heart-pounding days, McInnis's masterful suspense debut is fast-paced and diabolically unpredictable--a fresh, surprising, and powerfully smart twist on the traditional thriller.


About the Author

S. L. McInnis has a degree in broadcasting and has worked in public radio and television. Like Beth, she studied music for years. Framed is her suspense debut.


Praise For Framed

"Exceptional...A fresh riff on the Gone Girl motif."—Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies will find much to love."—Library Journal

"A heart-stopping thriller that makes you think twice about those you think you know."—FreshFiction.com

"This is a terrific debut for McInnis... She is adept at not only setting the scene but her characters, including Beth's husband, have depth. This is definitely a writer to watch."—The Globe and Mail

"Fast, twisty and totally unexpected. A riveting read!"—Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door

"Just when you believe that you have an inkling of what's happening, you're wrong! McInnis has an excellent way of weaving in clues and setting the stage for a blockbuster ending that is positively jaw-dropping."—TheMysterySite.com

"Nothing is as it seems in this story. Or is it? Complete with false leads, superfluous characters serving to distract, a gripping atmosphere and fast-paced storytelling, this book is an extremely engaging and enjoyable read."—TheGirlyBookClub.com


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Times New Roman'}

"FRAMED by S.L. McInnis is absolutely sensational! With a stunning blend of brilliant psychological suspense and hard-hitting police procedural, this explosive thriller has a cast of vivid, well-developed characters, a gripping, taut plot with twists in every chapter, perfectly placed clues, and a shocking, fully satisfying ending. It's one of the best thrillers I've read this year!"— p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Times New Roman'} Samantha M. Bailey, author of Woman on the Edge