Skip to main content


Brat

An '80s Story

Andrew McCarthy

Hardcover

List Price: 28.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
CD-Audio (5/11/2021)

Description

A beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by actor, director, and author, Andrew McCarthy, that will appeal to fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's Stories I Only Tell My Friends.

Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St. Elmo's Fire, Weekend at Bernie's, and Less than Zero, and as a charter member of Hollywood's Brat Pack. That iconic group of ingenues and heartthrobs included Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez, and Demi Moore, and has come to represent both a genre of film and an era of pop culture.

In his memoir Brat: An '80s Story, McCarthy focuses his gaze on that singular moment in time. The result is a revealing look at coming of age in a maelstrom, reckoning with conflicted ambition, innocence, addiction, and masculinity. New York City of the 1980s is brought to vivid life in these pages, from scoring loose joints in Washington Square Park to skipping school in favor of the dark revival houses of the Village where he fell in love with the movies that would change his life.

Filled with personal revelations of innocence lost to heady days in Hollywood with John Hughes and an iconic cast of characters, Brat is a surprising and intimate story of an outsider caught up in a most unwitting success.


Praise For Brat: An '80s Story

PRAISE FOR ANDREW MCCARTHY-

"Soulful and searching . . . McCarthy's prose shines with intelligence and intimacy . . . A long, strange trip on the direction of full-throttle love."
Cheryl Strayed, New York Times Book Review

"McCarthy ponders some of the biggest and most frightening questions surrounding intimacy: How does a loner connect? How does a traveler settle down? How do we merge into families without losing ourselves? The answer seems to be that all these things are impossible...and yet somehow we do it anyway. There is much to be learned, and much to be admired, in this elegant, thoughtful story."
Elizabeth Gilbert, bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love

"A candid, touching, and often humorous new memoir."
San Francisco Chronicle

"Combining the best aspects of Paul Theroux's misanthropy in books like Old Patagonian Express and Elizabeth Gilbert's emotions in Eat, Pray, Love, this book is hard to put down. Bound to be popular, this compelling and honest chronicle will not disappoint readers."—Library Journal

"Andrew McCarthy treks from Baltimore to the Amazon, exploring his commitment issues as fearlessly as he scales Mount Kilimanjaro."
Elle

"Brave and moving. . . McCarthy's keen sense of scene and storytelling ignites his accounts...[t]hreaded with an exemplary vulnerability and propelled by a candid exploration of his own life's frailties."
National Geographic

"This is not some memoir written by an actor who fancies himself a world traveler. McCarthy really is a world traveler - and a damned fine writer, too...To readers who think, "Andrew McCarthy? Really?" the answer is a resounding and emphatic yes. Really."
Booklist

"Rarely have I seen the male psyche explored with such honesty and vulnerability. This is the story of a son, a father, a brother, a husband, a man who finds the courage not only to face himself, but to reveal himself, and, in so doing, illuminates something about what it is to be human, fully alive, and awake."
Dani Shapiro, author of Devotion

"It's hard to write books that are both adventurous and touching, but Andrew McCarthy manages to pull it off and more! A smart, valuable book."
Gary Shteyngart, bestselling author of Super Sad True Love Story and Absurdistan

"Where lesser writers might reach for hyperbole and Roget to describe such exotic lands as Patagonia, Kilimanjaro and Baltimore, in The Longest Way Home, McCarthy leans on subtlety, a straightforward style and hard-won insights to allow his larger stories to unfold. It's not hard to imagine him as the solitary figure in the café, scribbling in a notebook by candlelight, making the lonely, tedious work of travel writing look romantic and easy."—Chuck Thompson, author of Better Off Without 'Em and Smile When You're Lying

Grand Central Publishing, 9781538754276, 224pp.

Publication Date: May 11, 2021



About the Author

Since starring in the movies he recounts throughout Brat, Andrew McCarthy has become a director, award-winning travel writer, and New York Times bestselling author. He has directed more than 80 hours of television, including Orange in the New Black, Grace and Frankie, The Blacklist, New Amsterdam, Good Girls, Gossip Girl, and many others. For a dozen years, he served as editor-at-large at National Geographic Traveler and his award-winning travel writing has appeared in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, The Atlantic, TIME, and elsewhere. He is the author of two New York Times bestsellers, the travel memoir The Longest Way Home (Free Press, 2012) and the young adult novel Just Fly Away (Algonquin, 2017). He's also returned to acting and will appear in the upcoming seasons of 13 Reasons Why on Netflix and Good Girls on NBC.