Skip to main content


Revver the Speedway Squirrel

Sherri Duskey Rinker, Alex Willan (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The author of the bestselling Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site picture books makes her middle grade debut in this utterly delightful, illustrated series perfect for fans of Beverly Cleary's The Mouse and the Motorcycle.

Meet Revver: a little squirrel with big dreams . . . to drive a race car! His siblings might not understand his need for speed, but Revver doesn't care. And he certainly doesn't care about looking for food, climbing trees, or any other "ordinary" squirrel activity. He spends his days staring at the racetrack just below his nest, where the cars zoom by day in and day out.

When Revver finally gets the chance to sneak out to the track, he finds that becoming part of the pit crew is more difficult than he expected. He never learned anything about engines in Squirrel School! Then Revver meets tire changer Bill, who luckily has a soft spot for animals. Can Revver prove to Bill that he deserves to be part of the team?

Perfect for fans of Ralph S. Mouse, Revver the Speedway Squirrel is a funny, action-packed, and heartwarming story about family, feeling different, and following your heart.



Praise For Revver the Speedway Squirrel

“This warm, funny, and action-packed tale stars Revver, an endearing squirrel with big dreams and an even bigger heart. Perfect for a family or classroom read-aloud, don't miss this sure-fire crowd-pleaser. I love this little squirrel!” —Katherine Applegate, Newbery Award winning author of THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN

Bloomsbury Children's Books, 9781547603619, 208pp.

Publication Date: October 6, 2020



About the Author

Sherri Duskey Rinker is the author of #1 New York Times bestsellers Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site; Mighty, Mighty Construction Site; Construction Site on Christmas Night; and Steam Train, Dream Train. She loves cooking, gardening, and old oil paintings. Revver was inspired by Sherri's husband (who took her to watch sprint car racing on one of their first dates), her brilliant-but-impulsive oldest son, and her kart-racing, speed-obsessed youngest son.
sherriduskeyrinker.com
@sherririnker

Alex Willan the author and illustrator of Unicorns are the Worst and the Jasper & Ollie series. He grew up in Louisville, Kentucky, where he was seldom seen without his sketchbook in hand. His love of drawing led him to earn a BFA in illustration from Savannah College of Art and Design. Alex has exhibited in art galleries and has painted murals, theater sets, and squirmy kids' faces, but his true love has always been children's books. He lives in Chicago with his dog, Harley.
alexwillan.com
@alexwillan