These Unlucky Stars (Hardcover)

By Gillian McDunn

Bloomsbury Children's Books, 9781547605385, 288pp.

Publication Date: March 2, 2021

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From the highly acclaimed author of Caterpillar Summer comes a sweet and heartfelt story of a girl's unexpected friendship that changes her forever, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Ever since her mother left a few years ago, Annie has felt like the odd one out in her family. Her dad and brother are practical and organized--they just don't understand the way she thinks, in lines and color. Everywhere she turns, she feels like an outsider, even at school, so she's been reluctant to get close to anyone.

When a "Ding-Dong-Ditch" attempt goes wrong, Annie finds herself stuck making amends with Gloria, the eccentric elderly lady she disturbed. As she begins to connect with Gloria and her weird little dog, it becomes clear that Gloria won't be able to live on her own for much longer. But it's this brief and important friendship that gives Annie the confidence to let people in, and see how rich life can be when you decide to make your own luck and chart your own path to happiness.

In this heartwarming novel, acclaimed author Gillian McDunn shows us that even the most unexpected friendship has the power to change us forever.

Acclaim for Caterpillar Summer
An Indies Introduce Pick
A Texas Bluebonnet Selection
A Parents Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
An Amazon Best Book of the Year



About the Author

Gillian McDunn is the author of Caterpillar Summer and The Queen Bee and Me. She has lived in California, Missouri, and North Carolina, and is a fan of both the Pacific and the Atlantic Oceans. She currently lives near Raleigh, NC, with her family.
www.gillianmcdunn.com



Praise For These Unlucky Stars

“McDunn portrays the intertwined emotional lives of middle-school kids with sensitivity and precision. . . . An insightful story of friendship and change.” —Booklist, starred review, on THE QUEEN BEE AND ME

“Meg's first-person narration is emotive and candid. . . . Refreshingly genuine.” —Kirkus Reviews on THE QUEEN BEE AND ME

“McDunn deftly sketches Meg's struggles amid seventh grade's unspoken social order. . . . Readers will identify with the pitch-perfect middle school dynamics.” —Publishers Weekly on THE QUEEN BEE AND ME

“An engaging, honest book--I love Cat, and you will, too!” —Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Newbery Honor-winning author of THE WAR THAT SAVED MY LIFE on CATERPILLAR SUMMER

“I could almost smell the ocean air as I read Gillian McDunn's Caterpillar Summer. What a beautiful story of family, forgiveness, life on an island, and growing up.” —Kate Messner, author of BREAKOUT and THE SEVENTH WISH on CATERPILLAR SUMMER

“An engrossing, heartwarming, beautifully written debut about building and rebuilding family ties.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on CATERPILLAR SUMMER

“McDunn's poignant, gratifying debut about friendship and family encourages both empathy and hope.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review, on CATERPILLAR SUMMER

“Fans of the books Rules by Cynthia Lord and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine will enjoy this well-written book about the struggles of a fractured family.” —School Library Connection on CATERPILLAR SUMMER

“Readers will find Cat to be an admirable and fully credible heroine . . . and the idyllic island setting makes for a wistful summer escape.” —BCCB on CATERPILLAR SUMMER

“A sweet summer story that middle grade readers will appreciate.” —School Library Journal on CATERPILLAR SUMMER