Skip to main content
Cover for Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms

Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms

Jamar J. Perry

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

As the true Descendant, I command to open
The door to Chidani; it shall be broken

Magic awaits those who seek the queen's peace
And all the suffering you feel will cease

Those who open the histories will hear a sound
What was lost has finally been found.

Cameron Battle grew up reading The Book of Chidani, cherishing stories about the fabled kingdom that cut itself off from the world to save the Igbo people from danger. Passed down over generations, the Book is Cameron's only connection to his parents who disappeared one fateful night, two years ago.
Ever since, his grandmother has kept the Book locked away, but it calls to Cameron. When he and his best friends Zion and Aliyah decide to open it again, they are magically transported to Chidani. Instead of a land of beauty and wonder, they find a kingdom in extreme danger, as the Queen's sister seeks to destroy the barrier between worlds. The people of Chidani have been waiting for the last Descendant to return and save them . . . is Cameron ready to be the hero they need?

Inspired by West African and Igbo history and mythology, this adventurous middle-grade fantasy debut perfect for fans of Aru Shah and Tristan Strong celebrates the triumphs and challenges of a boy finding his truth path to greatness.

Bloomsbury Children's Books, 9781547606948, 320pp.

Publication Date: February 1, 2022



About the Author

Dr. Jamar J. Perry is a debut author who received his PhD in Literacy Education, Language, Culture, and Social Inquiry from the University of Maryland, College Park. Before, he taught middle school Language Arts for four years, where the majority of the students were Black boys. Now, his work centers Black boy vulnerable and progressive masculinity and focuses on training English instructors to teach these students in the middle school and high school classroom. Like Cameron, he hopes that one day all Black boys can understand how magical and joyful they really are, no matter how different they may feel.

Twitter: @jamarperry
Instagram: @jamarjperry
www.jamarjperry.com