The Blessing (Paperback)

New and Selected Poems

By Richard Jones

Copper Canyon Press, 9781556591433, 396pp.

Publication Date: April 1, 2000

List Price: 23.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Gathering over one hundred previously uncollected and new poems, together with four previous books, The Blessing provides a necessary overview of a surprising and deceptively accessible poet.

"Skillful, direct, and surprisingly delicate."-The Village Voice

Richard Jones was born in London and educated at the University of Virginia. His first book of poetry, Country of Air (Copper Canyon Press, 1986), won the Posner Award from the Council for Wisconsin Writers. He published At Last We Enter Paradise in 1991 and Perfect Time in 1994.

Jones has edited Poetry East since 1979 and has edited two critical anthologies Poetry and Politics and Of Solitude and Silence: Writings on Robert Bly. He is a professor at DePaul University in Chicago.

About the Author

Richard Jones is the author of ten books of poetry and criticism and editor of Poetry East. He teaches at DePaul University in Chicago.