Skip to main content


Soccer Team Upset (Fred Bowen Sports Stories

Soccer)

Fred Bowen

Paperback

List Price: 6.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Get back on the soccer field with this action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen - perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Tyler hopes for an unbeatable season for his soccer team, but is that even possible when his friends--and the team's best players--leave for an elite travel team?

With their best players gone, Tyler is excited when Coach Murray gives him the midfielder position. It's tough, and despite how hard Tyler tries, his team can't seem to win a game. Then an elderly English soccer fan tells Tyler about the United States' 1-0 surprise upset against England, the world's number one team, in the 1950 World Cup. Inspired by these underdogs and their one play that changed the course of the game, Tyler finds a new sense of determination. But is one play really enough to beat the top-ranked team in their own league?

Weaving a fast-paced story of jealousy, compassion, and pride, author Fred Bowen excites readers in this classic tale of underdogs rising to victory. Find out the real story of the 1950 World Cup match between the United States and England in the afterword.

Discussion Guide available.

Peachtree Publishing Company, 9781561454952, 141pp.

Publication Date: August 1, 2009