Skip to main content


Eros the Bittersweet (American Literature (Dalkey Archive))

Anne Carson

Paperback

List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (7/14/2014)
Hardcover (4/19/2016)
Paperback (1/1/1989)
Hardcover (7/21/1986)

Description

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time

A book about romantic love, Eros the Bittersweet is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Dalkey Archive Press, 9781564781888, 190pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 1998



About the Author

Anne Carson is the author of "Glass, Irony and God"; "Autobiography of Red"; "The Beauty of the Husband"; "Men in the Off Hours"; and other books.