A Whole New Mind (Hardcover)

Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future

By Daniel H. Pink

Riverhead Books, 9781573223089, 272pp.

Publication Date: March 24, 2005

List Price: 27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Fall '08/Winter '09 Reading Group List

“A Whole New Mind is an amazing scientific and self-help book that argues that, in order to succeed in modern life, one must become more creative -- or, use not only the logical left brain but also the right brain, a center for emotional thinking and synthesis. Pink very convincingly argues this point and gives many suggestions for ways to increase creativity.”
— Eric Berg, Book Ends, Winchester, MA
View the List

Description

Look out for Daniel Pink’s new book, When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

Lawyers. Accountants. Radiologists. Software  engineers. That's what our parents encouraged us to become when we grew up. But Mom and Dad were wrong. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind. The era of "left brain" dominance, and the Information Age that it engendered, are giving way to a new world in which "right brain" qualities-inventiveness, empathy, meaning-predominate. That's the argument at the center of this provocative and original book, which uses the two sides of our brains as a metaphor for understanding the contours of our times.

In the tradition of Emotional Intelligence and Now, Discover Your Strengths, Daniel H. Pink offers a fresh look at what it takes to excel. A Whole New Mind reveals the six essential aptitudes on which professional success and personal fulfillment now depend, and includes a series of hands-on exercises culled from experts around the world to help readers sharpen the necessary abilities. This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.



About the Author

Daniel H. Pink is the author of five books, including To Sell Is Human and the long-running New York Times bestsellers A Whole New Mind and Drive. His books have been translated into thirty-three languages and have sold more than a million copies in the United States alone. Pink lives with his family in Washington, D.C.


Praise For A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future

Will give you a new way to look at your work, your talent, your future. (Worthwhile magazine)

Very important, convincingly argued, and mind-altering. (Po Bronson, author of What Should I Do With My Life?)

Wow! This is not a self-help book. It's way more important than that. (Seth Godin, author of Purple Cow)