Roseborough (Paperback)

A Novel (Evelyn Oppenheimer Series #4)

By Jane Roberts Wood

University of North Texas Press, 9781574412796, 304pp.

Publication Date: October 30, 2009

List Price: 19.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


In Roseborough, Jane Roberts Wood returns with a keenly observed tale of bighearted people in small-town Texas. Three weeks after Mary Lou’s Gypsy husband dies, her fourteen-year-old daughter, Echo, runs away. Numbed by grief and grounded only by her job at the Dairy Queen, Mary Lou impulsively signs up for Anne Hamilton’s single-parenting class at the nearby community college. Anne, complex and passionate, has avoided the risks that come with commitment. Knowing nothing of the stages of grief or the process of recovery, Mary Lou begins a sometimes comic, yet poignant, journey to find Echo. Compelled by Mary Lou’s story and her strange daughter, Anne begins her own journey that can ultimately set her free.

About the Author

JANE ROBERTS WOOD is the award-winning author of The Train to Estelline, A Place Called Sweet Shrub, and Dance a Little Longer, all published in paperback by the University of North Texas Press. A recipient of the Texas Institute of Letters Award, and fellowships from the National Endowment of the Humanities and the National Endowment for the Arts, she is also a member of the Texas Institute of Letters. She lives in Argyle, Texas.

Praise For Roseborough: A Novel (Evelyn Oppenheimer Series #4)

"Jane Roberts Wood's descriptions of small-town life resonate with goodwill. The characters she created have Texas-sized hearts as well as Texas-sized problems."—Estes Park News

 "Wood has a rare gift for transcending the ordinary. . . Her narration is seamless, and she is especially masterful in creating believable characters."—Publishers Weekly