Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture (Hardcover)

By Apostolos Doxiadis

Bloomsbury USA, 9781582340678, 208pp.

Publication Date: February 1, 2000

Advertisement

Description

In the tradition of "Fermat's Last Theorem" and "Einstein's Dreams," a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.



About the Author

Apostolos Doxiadis received a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from Columbia University in New York and a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics from the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes in Paris. He lives in Athens, Greece.


Praise For Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture

"A mathematical conjecture unsolved for two centuries; a mathematical genius uncle driven mad trying to solve it; an ambiguous relation with a mathematically-minded nephew; and acute human observation all come together in Uncle Petros to make a very funny, tender, charming and, to my mind, irresistible novel." --Oliver Sacks, M.D.

"The most dramatic book I've read all year, with ambition, betrayal and greedy self-sacrifice to rival anything you'd find in an opera." --Newsday

"A fascinating, captivating, intellectual joy ride..." --Miami Herald

Advertisement