The Global Deal (Hardcover)

Climate Change and the Creation of a New Era of Progress and Prosperity

By Nicholas Stern

PublicAffairs, 9781586486693, 256pp.

Publication Date: April 27, 2009

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (4/27/2009)
Compact Disc (4/28/2009)
Paperback, Large Print, Large Print (11/1/2010)
Audio Cassette (4/1/2009)
MP3 CD (4/28/2009)
Compact Disc (4/28/2009)

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In October 2006, Nicholas Stern, one of the greatest economists and public intellectuals of our day, made headlines around the world with his report, which reviewed the costs and benefits of dealing with global warming. The world's community has learned that it must act to mitigate global climate change, but until the Stern Review, no one knew how much it would cost, and how to do it.

Now, Stern has transformed his report into a powerful narrative book for general readers. The Global Deal evaluates the economic future, and the essential steps we must take to protect growth and reduce poverty while managing climate change.

The future Stern outlines is optimistic and pragmatic; he believes we have the capacity and creativity to change. But we need the will to inspire our political leaders to drive a new global strategy.



About the Author

Professor Nicholas Stern is the IG Patel Chair and Chairman of the Grantham Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, and Director of the India Observatory at the London School of Economics and Political Science. As Baron Stern of Brentford, he is a member of the UK House of Lords. He was Chief Economist and Senior Vice President of the World Bank from 2000-2003, head of the UK Government Economic Service from 2003-2007, and head of the Stern Review on the Economics of Climate Change from 2005-2007.


Praise For The Global Deal: Climate Change and the Creation of a New Era of Progress and Prosperity

Kirkus, 3/15
“Erudite and effective”

Bill McKibben, New York Review of Books
“2009 may well turn out to be the decisive year in the human relationship with our home planet. By December, when the world’s leaders plan to gather in Copenhagen to sign a new global accord on global warming, we’ll know whether or not our political systems are up to the unprecedented challenge that climate change represents….Nicholas Stern’s new book provides the best scorecard we have for keeping track of this drama as it unfolds.”