The Alchemist's Cat: The Deptford Histories - Book One (Hardcover)

The Deptford Histories - Book One

By Robin Jarvis

Chronicle Books, 9781587172571, 320pp.

Publication Date: August 1, 2004



The year is 1664 when young Will Godwin comes to London. In order to survive, he becomes an assistant to a wicked alchemist, Elias Theophratus Spittle. On an errand one freezing night, Will finds a mother cat and her three kittens, and brings the family back to his master's lab. Among the bubbling bottles and evil smelling jars of his master's apothecary shop unfolds an extraordinary tale of villainy, sorcery, and murder. The Deptford Mice trilogy witnessed the harrowing battles between the mice of Deptford and Jupiter, lord of darkness and treacherous disguises. Now in this gripping prequel, Jupiter's secret history is revealed.

About the Author

Robin Jarvis worked in television and advertising before becoming a full-time author and illustrator. His first book, The Dark Portal, was short-listed for the 1989 Smarties Book Prize in England. Mr. Jarvis currently lives in London.

Praise For The Alchemist's Cat: The Deptford Histories - Book One

" gastly revelations pile upon grisly tableaus as the plot hurtles towards a spectacular final conflagration A crackerjack creepfest." -Kirkus Reviews

"Jarvis delivers a vivid tale of treachery, cruelty, and sorcery, leavened only by the innate goodness of Will, but it's also a real page-turner that will mesmerize readers of the trilogy." -Booklist

"...Jarvis closes with an unexpected cliff-hanger that will have readers craving more books about Jupiter. Fans of this series and the Redwall audience will enjoy this book." -School Library Journal