Daughter of Providence (Hardcover)

By Julie Drew

Overlook Press, 9781590204627, 320pp.

Publication Date: August 4, 2011

Advertisement

Description

Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has always been told that her mother abandoned them. But then Anne learns that she has a half- sister, Maria Cristina --and when Maria Cristina comes to live with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about the family Within a context of jazz, the end of Prohibition, and stifling gender expectations, Daughter of Providence is a gripping and seductive summer read. this story of loss and rediscovery will resonate with readers long after the final page.


About the Author

Julie Drew is associate Professor of English at the University of Akron, where she teaches writing, film, and cultural studies.
Advertisement