Under the Dog Star: A Rachel Goddard Mystery (Hardcover)

A Rachel Goddard Mystery

By Sandra Parshall

Poisoned Pen Press, 9781590588789, 250pp.

Publication Date: September 6, 2011

Advertisement

Description

Something frightening is happening in the mountain community of Mason County, Virginia. Pets are vanishing mysteriously and "Missing Dog" posters cover the waiting room walls at Dr. Rachel Goddard's veterinary clinic. A pack of feral canines roams at night, attacking livestock in a desperate search for food.

Then prominent physician Gordon Hall is found dead in his yard, his throat ripped open. Sheriff's Department investigator Tom Bridger believes the killing was premeditated murder using a trained attack dog as the weapon. He also suspects it is connected to the resurgence of an old problem: illegal dog fighting. But Dr. Hall's son insists the feral pack killed his father, and he organizes a group of men to find and shoot the animals.

Rachel and her friend Holly Turner make enemies by trying to rescue the dogs and move them to the sanctuary Holly has created. Tom, in love with Rachel and worried about her safety, must divide his time between the escalating controversy, shutting down the dog-fighting operation (if he can locate it), and hunting for Gordon Hall's killer....



About the Author

Sandra Parshall, a native Southerner, worked as a newspaper reporter in South Carolina, West Virginia, and Baltimore. She lives in Northern Virginia with her husband, a longtime Washington journalist, and their cats. "Under the Dog Star "is fourth in her Agatha Award-winning series featuring veterinarian Rachel Goddard."


Praise For Under the Dog Star: A Rachel Goddard Mystery

"Parshall’s latest is more than equal to earlier series entries (Broken Places, 2010, etc.), with spine-chilling tension from cover to cover. " —Kirkus Reviews


"In this tense and compelling entry in one of my favorite series, Virginia veterinarian Dr. Rachel Goddard and her fiancé, Deputy Sheriff Tom Bridger, deal with a vicious murder and the devastating consequences of illegal dog-fighting. Believable, sympathetic protagonists; a beautifully evoked setting; a haunting crime--Under the Dog Star is one of the un-put-down-able reads of the year." —Deborah Crombie, author of Necessary as Blood

"Well recommended, as it’s the fourth in an Agatha Award–winning series starring veterinarian Rachel Goddard" --Library Journal

"...a suspenseful tale distinguished by its sharp prose." —Publishers Weekly starred review of Broken Places

"Edge-of-the-seat suspense and a budding romance for Tom and Rachel make this essential reading for fans of Margaret Maron and Karin Slaughter." —Library Journal starred review of Disturbing the Dead

Winner of the Agatha Award for Best First Novel for The Heat of the Moon

 

Advertisement