Shamanism for the Age of Science (Paperback)

Awakening the Energy Body

By Kenneth Smith

Bear & Company, 9781591431190, 288pp.

Publication Date: July 26, 2011

List Price: 18.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A practical guide to understanding and awakening the human energy body

• Shows how the energy body forms our reality from the infinite possibilities presented by our thoughts, feelings, and those around us

• Illustrates the anatomy of the energy body, including its connections to the nervous system, chakras, and meridians

• Provides step-by-step exercises to awaken the energy body, expand awareness, and begin consciously creating your own reality

At a time when consciousness and other aspects of our energetic anatomy are finding their way into modern science, Kenneth Smith blends traditional shamanism with cutting-edge research in bioenergetics, neuroscience, and psychology to offer this user’s guide to the energy body--explaining what it is, what its capabilities are, and how to harness it as a vehicle for higher consciousness and heightened awareness.

For more than 5,000 years, shamans of the Toltec tradition have worked with the energy body, learning its structure and perceptual capacities as well as mapping it as an objective, measurable part of our anatomy. Drawing from his decades-long involvement in this tradition and his work in the field of bioenergetics, Smith explains how the energy body shapes our perceptions, determines our state of consciousness, and forms our reality from the infinite possibilities presented by our thoughts, feelings, and those around us. Illustrating our energetic anatomy and its connections to the nervous system, chakras, and meridians, he provides step-by-step exercises to awaken the energy body, expand awareness, and begin consciously building a creative life.


About the Author

Kenneth Smith, writing under the name Ken Eagle Feather, has published several books on Toltec philosophy, including On the Toltec Path and Toltec Dreaming. He apprenticed with Toltec shaman don Juan Matus and has served on the staff of the Association for Research and Enlightenment, part of the Edgar Cayce legacy, and also on the staff of The Monroe Institute, founded by consciousness researcher Robert Monroe. He is the executive director for Therapeutic Discovery, a medical science research institute, and lives in Richmond, Virginia.


Praise For Shamanism for the Age of Science: Awakening the Energy Body

“Kenneth Smith’s synthesis of Toltec philosophy and energetic anatomy is breathtaking in its scope. Drawing on both ancient teachings and the latest technological scientific advances, Shamanism for the Age of Science challenges contemporary assumptions about the nature of reality, the metaphysical structure of the human body, and the limits of knowledge. His insights break new ground in the fields of philosophy, health, psychology, mind/brain studies, and spirituality. This is a book that deserves to be read widely and thought about deeply.”
— Paul Rademacher, M. Div., executive director of the Monroe Institute and author of A Spiritual Hitch

“This is a brilliant articulation of our limitless possibilities and how to realize them. Shamanism for the Age of Science is based on the history of inquiry into energetics, up to and including the findings of modern science. This book will vastly expand your comprehension of your own energy system and what it means to you and all your relationships. The fascinating journey of discovery described here is the most important story you can know about; it will impact every moment of your life. Prepare to discover the vast if not infinite resources that are available to all of us.”
— James L. Oschman, Ph.D., author of Energy Medicine: The Scientific Basis

“Kenneth Smith illuminates the essential nature of being human, illustrates the basic mechanisms that we use to form separate realities, and offers us deeper understanding for establishing a healthier relationship in the world. This amazing book demonstrates the universality of the energy body by relating its dynamics to psychology, physics, sociology, and religion; and it helps to further establish the fields of bioenergetics, Energy Psychology, and Transpersonal Psychology. I can imagine the Toltec shaman don Juan announcing that Shamanism for the Age of Science offers us more than an ordinary path through the woods, since this is a path with true heart.”
— Fred Gallo, Ph.D., author of Energy Psychology

“If you want to change your life, simply change your mind. This simple truth is perhaps the greatest tool for personal change that remains unknown by most of the contemporary world. My hope is that Shamanism for the Age of Science might contribute to the understanding that we truly have a major role in co-creating our lives and our world, and it is a role that we can no longer neglect to take seriously.”
— Kevin J. Todeschi, author of Edgar Cayce on Vibrations

“[Smith] has made an important contribution to awakening a slumbering West, as the rest of the world starts to rediscover and reinvent riches from diverse pasts.”
— Reg Little, New Dawn

“The author blends traditional shamanism with cutting-edge research in bioenergetics, neuroscience and psychology to offer a user’s guide to the energy body, explaining what it is, what its capabilities are, and how to harness it as a vehicle for higher consciousness and awareness.”
— Odyssey Magazine, October 2013

Shamanism for the Age of Science presents a natural way to explore one’s awakening potential as well as expand one’s ability to heal themselves or others. If you’ve ever wanted to pick up an easy to understand guide for following in the footsteps of a Toltec Master, this is it.”
— Joseph W. McMoneagle, author of Remote Viewing Secrets

“In the tradition of Carlos Castaneda, Kenneth Smith applies the energy body concept to a broad expanse of the academic landscape. Wisdom is a broadening and deepening of understanding, and the reader who participates in the spiritual exercise of this book will see the world differently.”
— James F. Drane, Ph.D., Russell B. Roth Professor of Bioethics, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania,

“Kenneth Smith eloquently reveals what we all need to know regarding the energy body--its nature, functions, and purpose. By embracing this perennial wisdom we are offered the rarest of opportunities: to once again experience the practical philosophy of the sage, the seer, and the shaman.”
— Simon Buxton, author of The Shamanic Way of the Bee

“Kenneth Smith has methodically and thoughtfully written what we may be looking for to help lead us toward a revolution of thought and consciousness. Whether or not you are a scientist, practitioner, or lay person this book has something for you. I wish I had it years ago.”
— Erik Fisher, Ph.D., author of The Art of Empowered Parenting

“Dipping into this book, I’m fascinated, sometimes uncertain, and occasionally have my buttons pushed, thinking: that really couldn’t be true, could it? But if it is . . . What a great mind-stretcher. Or, perhaps I should better say a great energy-stretcher.”
— Charles T. Tart, Ph.D., professor emeritus of psychology, University of California, Davis, and autho