Skip to main content

That Distant Land

The Collected Stories (Port William)

Wendell Berry


List Price: 18.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/31/2009)
Hardcover (2/27/2004)
Compact Disc (12/1/2009)


Originally published in 2005, That Distant Land brings together twenty-three stories from the Port William Membership. Arranged in their fictional chronology, the book is not an anthology so much as it is a coherent temporal mapping of this landscape over time, revealing Berry's mastery of decades of the life lived alongside this clutch of interrelated characters bound by affection and followed over generations.

This volume combines the stories found in The Wild Birds (1985), Fidelity (1992), and Watch with Me (1994), together with a map and a charting of the complex and interlocking genealogies.

Counterpoint LLC, 9781593760540, 440pp.

Publication Date: February 24, 2005