Skip to main content
Cover for Seven Types of Ambiguity

Seven Types of Ambiguity

Elliot Perlman


List Price: 20.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (2/28/2018)


Seven Types of Ambiguity is a psychological thriller and a literary adventure of breathtaking scope. Celebrated as a novelist in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Philip Roth, Elliot Perlman writes of impulse and paralysis, empty marriages, lovers, gambling, and the stock market; of adult children and their parents; of poetry and prostitution, psychiatry and the law. Comic, poetic, and full of satiric insight, Seven Types of Ambiguity is, above all, a deeply romantic novel that speaks with unforgettable force about the redemptive power of love.

The story is told in seven parts, by six different narrators, whose lives are entangled in unexpected ways. Following years of unrequited love, an out-of-work schoolteacher decides to take matters into his own hands, triggering a chain of events that neither he nor his psychiatrist could have anticipated. Brimming with emotional, intellectual, and moral dilemmas, this novel-reminiscent of the richest fiction of the nineteenth century in its labyrinthine complexity-unfolds at a rapid-fire pace to reveal the full extent to which these people have been affected by one another and by the insecure and uncertain times in which they live. Our times, now.


Praise For Seven Types of Ambiguity

"An exciting gamble of a novel...bustling, kaleidoscopic, Rashomonian.—New York Times Book Review

"A cerebral dazzler of a psychodrama.—Entertainment Weekly

"A searing, serious character study...a love story, domestic drama, and a courtroom thriller.—People

"A psychological thriller that is, in short, dangerous, beguiling fun.—Newsweek

"A colossal achievement, a complicated driven marathon of a book...almost Shakespearean.—Observer [UK]

Riverhead Books, 9781594481437, 640pp.

Publication Date: December 6, 2005

About the Author

Elliot Perlman was born in Australia. He is the author of the short-story collection The Reasons I Won't Be Coming, which won the Betty Trask Award (UK) and the Fellowship of Australian Writers Book of the Year Award. Riverhead Books will publish this collection in 2005.