The Seven Year Bitch (Paperback)

By Jennifer Belle

Riverhead Books, 9781594485169, 368pp.

Publication Date: May 3, 2011

Advertisement

Description

From the bestselling author of "High Maintenance" and "Going Down "comes a witty, heartfelt comic novel about marriage, motherhood, and discovering that the life you have is exactly the one you want.
What's a fabulous New York City girl supposed to do when she finds herself fantasizing about the Grim Reaper more than she fantasizes about her husband? When she can t help but give him the finger on the set of "Sesame Street"? And when she doesn t exactly hope for a safe landing when he goes away on business?
No, ex-hedge fund manager and new mom Isolde Brilliant hasn t got the seven year itch taking care of her baby and husband and having a growing suspicion that she's living life in captivity has turned her into a "seven year bitch."
That's New York author Jennifer Belle's deliciously provocative phrase for the boredom, anger, and hurt that can creep into even the best of marriages and affect even the most saintly of wives. In the tradition of Jennifer Weiner and Meg Wolitzer, Belle delivers a dead-on, raw and hilarious novel about motherhood and marriage and discovering the life you have is exactly the one you wanted.


About the Author

Jennifer Belle is the bestselling author of "Going Down" (for which she was named best debut novelist of the year by "Entertainment Weekly"), "High Maintenance," and "Little Stalker." Her stories and essays have appeared in "The New York Times Magazine," "The Independent" (London), "Harper's Bazaar, Cosmopolitan, Ms., Black Book, Mudfish," and many anthologies. She lives in New York City and Olivebridge, New York, with her husband and their two sons.
Advertisement