Skip to main content

The Science of Happiness

10 Principles for Manifesting Your Divine Nature

Ryuho Okawa


List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Reveals the 10 essential principles that can serve as a compass for a spiritual life

• Presents the foundational teachings of the Happy Science spiritual movement (more than 10 million members worldwide)

• Offers revelations from past spiritual leaders, including Jesus, Buddha, and Moses

• Includes information on the ancient continents of Mu and Atlantis and the structure of the spirit world

In 1981 Ryuho Okawa began receiving revelations from the spirits of Nikko (1246-1333) and Nichirien (1222-1282), who had been outstanding Buddhist teachers during their lives. Soon he began receiving revelations from Buddha, Jesus Christ, Moses, and Confucius as well as spiritual messages from prominent figures such as Socrates, Isaac Newton, Abraham Lincoln, Mahatma Gandhi, Helen Keller, and Florence Nightingale. In 1985 he began publishing some of these revelations in Japan. A year later he established the spiritual movement Happy Science (Kofuku-no-Kagaku) to help people discover their true potential, to educate them to think and act in a spiritual way, and to help create an ideal world on Earth.

The Science of Happiness presents Master Okawa’s 10 essential principles that can serve as a compass for a spiritual life: Happiness, Love, the Mind, Enlightenment, Progress, Wisdom, Utopia, Salvation, Reflection, and Prayer. Master Okawa shows how following these principles can bring happiness and spiritual growth not only to ourselves but to all those around us. He provides the tools necessary to transform one’s inner world to be receptive to true happiness and enlightenment--and to find one’s true purpose in life. He also reveals other extraordinary spiritual truths, such as the secrets of the ancient continents of Mu and Atlantis and the structure of the spirit world.

Praise For The Science of Happiness: 10 Principles for Manifesting Your Divine Nature

“. . . expounds on four essential subjects for Happy Science students: the 'Fourfold Path' of love, wisdom, self-reflection and progress. Topics include increasing spiritual awareness, establishing a more spiritual world and making time for self-discovery.”
— Religion Bookline, Publishers Weekly, Sept 2009

"The secrets have been revealed through Okawa's timeless wisdom, making happiness possible now."
— Vision Magazine, Nov 2009

Destiny Books, 9781594773204, 192pp.

Publication Date: July 24, 2009

About the Author

Master Ryuho Okawa is a living Buddha and the founder and spiritual leader of Happy Science. He has a law degree from the University of Tokyo and studied international finance at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York. In 1986 he renounced his business career and established Happy Science, the most influential spiritual movement in Japan that now has more than 10 million members worldwide. Master Okawa is the author of more than 500 books and periodicals and lives in Japan.