Skip to main content


Darwen Arkwright and the Insidious Bleck

A. J. Hartley, Emily Osborne (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Winter 2012 Kids Next List

“When Darwen goes on a school trip to Costa Rica, he and his friends must find a new way into the magical world of Silbrica to solve the mystery of several kidnappings. There's a giant tentacled monster called the Insidious Bleck involved, but that's just a tool in a much bigger scheme. Add to that the challenges Darwen has on the friendship front, and this book is a great adventure read that any kid who has had problems with friends can relate to. A worthy sequel to Darwen Arkwright and the Peregrine Pact.”
— Melissa Oates, Fiction Addiction, Greenville, SC
View the List

Description

The second book in the quirky and enchanting Darwen Arkwright series, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society
THE WORLD BEYOND THE MIRROR HOLDS MORE SECRETS. . . .
Eleven-year-old Darwen Arkwright's life changed forever when he first set foot in Silbrica, the wondrous and magical world beyond the mirror. Now, he and his friends Rich and Alexandra--the Peregrine Pact--must journey to Costa Rica to save a boy who's been stolen by the Insidious Bleck, a giant tentacled creature that leaves destruction in its wake. But what at first seemed to be a single kidnapping turns out to be an elaborate conspiracy that threatens the very future of our world. And this time, old allies can't be trusted, and the danger runs deeper than Darwen could have ever imagined.
Kirkus Reviews called the first Darwen book "Brilliant " and we think you'll agree. It's a completely modern take on the kind of fantasy that has delighted middle-grade readers for generations.


Praise For Darwen Arkwright and the Insidious Bleck

Praise for the DARWEN ARKWRIGHT series:

"If your mirror suddenly turned into a window, and you could climb through it to an amazing--but dangerous--world . . . would you do it it? Would you dare? If you answered yes, this is the book for you! Fantastic, surprising fun!" --R.L. Stine, bestselling author of GOOSEBUMPS "Great storytelling draws you into the book just as surely as Darwen--a Lancashire lad caught in the USA--is drawn through the mirror" --Joseph Delaney, author of THE LAST APPRENTICE "There hasn't been such a 'mirroculous' adventure since Alice climbed through the looking glass . . . . This imaginative story has it all, making it an enticing selection for young readers who fell in love with The Golden Compass and The Chronicles of Narnia." --New York Journal of Books
“The story is gripping and fast paced, and readers will cheer for Darwen and his friends.” –School Library Journal  "Truly heart-racing moments." --VOYA
" 'Brilliant!' as Darwen would say." --Kirkus Reviews
-Reviews

Razorbill, 9781595144102, 440pp.

Publication Date: November 21, 2012



About the Author

AJ Hartley is the author of several bestselling adult novels and has been published in over twenty-seven languages worldwide. He lives with his wife and son in Charlotte, North Carolina. The Darwen Arkwright series is his first for children.