Skip to main content

The Collected Works of John Cheever

A Library of America Boxed Set

Blake Bailey


List Price: 70.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Here, for his centennial, is the definitive two-volume edition of the stories and novels of John Cheever. The first volume, Collected Stories and Other Writings, combines the Pulitzer Prize–winning collection The Stories of John Cheever with seven selections—here restored to print—from Cheever’s first book, The Way Some People Live (1943) and seven additional stories first published in periodicals between 1930 and 1953. The second, Complete Novels, presents all five of Cheever’s novels: The Wapshot Chronicle (winner of the National Book Award); The Wapshot Scandal (winner of the William Dean Howells Medal); Bullet Park; Falconer; and Oh What a Paradise It Seems.

LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation’s literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America’s best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.

Library of America, 9781598531633

Publication Date: April 26, 2012

About the Author

Blake Bailey, editor, is the author of A Tragic Honesty: The Life and Work of Richard Yates and Cheever: A Life, winner of the 2009 National Book Critics Circle Award.