Skip to main content

The Ross Macdonald Collection

11 Classic Lew Archer Novels: A Library of America Boxed Set

Ross Macdonald, Tom Nolan (Editor)


List Price: 112.50*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Ross Macdonald transformed the detective novel into a literary expression of unique psychological depth and drama. Here, for the first time in a deluxe three-volume Library of America boxed set, are eleven of his classic Lew Archer mysteries.


Four Novels of the 1950s (Library of America volume #264)  
The Way Some People Die
The Barbarous Coast
The Doomsters
The Galton Case

Three Novels of the Early 1960s (Library of America volume #279)
The Zebra-Striped Hearse
The Chill
The Far Side of the Dollar

Four Later Novels (Library of America volume #295)
Black Money
The Instant Enemy
The Goodbye Look
The Underground Man

LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation’s literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America’s best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.

Praise For The Ross Macdonald Collection: 11 Classic Lew Archer Novels: A Library of America Boxed Set

“The finest series of detective novels ever written by an American.” --The New York Times Book Review

“Macdonald brought a new method of psychological construction to the hard-boiled novel … he was in line with many of the important mid-century movements of American literary fiction, and deserves to be seen as a worthy addition to them.” — The Times Literary Supplement

Library of America, 9781598535525, 2618pp.

Publication Date: September 12, 2017

About the Author

Ross Macdonald was the principal pen name of Canadian-American writer Kenneth Millar (1915-1983).

Tom Nolan, editor, is the author of the definitive Ross Macdonald: A Biography (1999). In addition to the three-volume Library of America edition of Macdonald’s fiction he has edited The Archer Files (2007) and (with Suzanne Marrs) Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross Macdonald (2015).