White Riot (Paperback)

A Joe Donovan Thriller (Joe Donovan Thrillers)

By Martyn Waites

Pegasus Books, 9781605980959, 468pp.

Publication Date: June 19, 2010

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (3/8/2009)
Compact Disc (3/1/2009)
MP3 CD (8/1/2015)
Analog Audio Cassette (3/1/2009)

List Price: 22.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The third novel in the acclaimed Joe Donovan series by “Britain’s answer to Michael Connelly” (Ken Bruen).


When the savagely beaten body of a Muslim student is discovered in a rundown area of Newcastle, blame falls on the far right National Unity Party—but for once they appear to be innocent. after the death of a supposed suicide bomber, the investigation takes a more dangerous turn as our protagonist and his team find themselves the targets of a ruthless killer unlike any they have faced before. A killer who will do anything to ensure an explosive thirty-year-old secret remains buried. Anything—even orchestrating a brutal race war that will tear the city apart, with Donovan caught in the middle.


About the Author

Martyn Waites is one of crime fiction's leading writers of neo-noir. He is the author of The Mercy Seat, Bone Machine, White Riot, and Speak No Evil. Waites lives in London.


Praise For White Riot: A Joe Donovan Thriller (Joe Donovan Thrillers)

Starred Review: An intelligent, fast-paced plot about radical groups orchestrating a race riot is only one highlight of Waites's superb third Joe
Donovan thriller. Waites masterfully pulls together a cohesive
story about fanatical politics filled with surprises and suspense.
Fans of Mark Billingham, John Connolly, and Ken Bruen will find
much to like.

Waites is a fine writer working with a gripping plot about extremist groups plotting to set off a race war in England, so readers willing to suspend their disbelief will be richly rewarded.

A sometimes brutal, sometimes poetic journey through the
dark heart of modern Britain, and confirms Waites as one of the
brightest stars in crime writing.
— John Connolly

Waites stands out in the field of young British noir writers with
his bruised characters, raw-edged dialogue, and extraordinary
night vision.
— Marilyn Stasio

London’s dark heart has seldom been exposed with such surgical precision. Brutal, mesmerizing stuff.
— Ian Rankin

The pace is relentless, the prose seamless, and the writing a
sheer joy.
— Ken Bruen

A powerful writer who creates memorable characters who live
in memory as well as on the page.
— Otto Penzler, editor of the New York Times bestseller The Black Lizard Big Book of Pulps