Skip to main content
Cover for Bitter Legacy

Bitter Legacy

A Matt Royal Mystery

H. Terrell Griffin


List Price: 15.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (12/20/2010)


Best-Selling and Award-Winning Author

Matt Royal has gotten himself into a royal mess

After a week away, Matt Royal's ready to get back to the Longboat Key good life—good fishing, good food, good beer, and more good fishing. But Matt comes back to bad news: while he was away, a sniper tried to kill one of his best friends. Even worse, now that Matt's back, someone's trying to kill him. And whoever is trying to kill him is trying really hard.

With no clue who's after him or why, Matt soon finds he's at the center of a mystery involving a lawyer's murder, a tourist left for dead, a ruthless biker gang, a reclusive billionaire with nothing to lose, and an ancient document that could bring ruin to some of the most entrenched financial interests in Florida.

Between solving the mystery and staying alive, Matt's got his hands full. But he'd better watch out or his hard-charging ways could get him sideways with the newest member of Longboat Key's police force, the undeniably attractive Jennifer Duncan. For Matt, it's shaping up to be a really long week.

Perfect for fans of John D. MacDonald’s Travis McGee

While all of the novels in the Matt Royal Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Blood Island
Wyatt’s Revenge
Bitter Legacy
Collateral Damage
Fatal Decree
Chasing Justice
Mortal Dilemma

Praise For Bitter Legacy: A Matt Royal Mystery

Bitter Legacy is another solid cruise in the sun with H. Terrell Griffin. This story takes you in and holds you to the very last page. I enjoyed the ride!” —Michael Connelly, New York Times best-selling author

“Griffin’s Matt Royal novels may be the closest approximation we have today to John D. MacDonald in his pulp-fiction prime. Griffin captures the mood and tone of the McGee novels nicely. Good fun.” —Booklist

“In the best John D. MacDonald tradition, the pulse-pounding action never stops . . .” —Lansing State Journal

“Pacing, characters, history, mystery—what more can a suspense addict ask for?” —BookPage

Praise for the Matt Royal Mystery Series

“Witty, smart and highly entertaining. An intriguing mix of hopes and fears that combine into a pulse-pounding treat.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author

“Welcome to the world of Matt Royal, the fun-loving beach bum lawyer who is as tough and smart as any character in modern American fiction.” ―Randy Wayne White, New York Times best-selling author

“Full of Florida flavor and spiced with tension and humor.” ―James O. Born, New York Times best-selling author

“This is an entertaining mystery . . . reminiscent of John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee novels, with a dash of Lee Child's Jack Reacher thrown in for good measure.” —Booklist

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608090327, 360pp.

Publication Date: January 11, 2012

About the Author

H. Terrell Griffin, a former trial lawyer and soldier, is the award-winning and best-selling author of the Matt Royal Mystery Series set on the Florida Gulf Coast island of Longboat Key, and Vindication, set in The Villages of Central Florida. His novels have repeatedly been compared to John D. MacDonald for their setting, character, and style. Bitter Legacy joins the Longboat Key series of Blood Island, Wyatt’s Revenge, Collateral Damage, Fatal Decree, Found, Chasing Justice, and Mortal Dilemma.