Skip to main content


Fatal Decree

A Matt Royal Mystery

H. Terrell Griffin

Hardcover

List Price: 25.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (1/14/2014)
MP3 CD (5/6/2014)
Compact Disc (1/7/2014)
MP3 CD (1/15/2013)
Compact Disc (1/15/2013)
MP3 CD (1/15/2013)

Description

Best-Selling and Award-Winning Author

Serial killer loose on Longboat Key


When a serial killer shows up on Longboat Key after a twelve-year absence, Matt Royal is stymied. The first woman killed on Longboat Key has ties to a secretive government agency for which Matt's best friend, Jock Algren, works. Was this a coincidence or was she a targeted kill?

Matt's friend, Longboat Key detective Jennifer Diane (J.D.) Duncan, investigates the murders—but also seems to be a target of the killer. Why? And where has the killer been for the past twelve years? And why has he come to Longboat Key when his earlier kills were all in Miami? The mystery deepens when Guatemalan gangbangers try to kill Matt and J.D. and suspicions grow that Mexican drug cartels are somehow involved.

The director of Jock's agency orders him to do whatever is necessary to find the killer because of the death of the woman with connections to the agency. Will Jock simply take out the murderer or allow J.D. and the law to arrest, try, and convict the bad guys?

Matt's life is further complicated by J.D.'s growing dissatisfaction with island living—and her thoughts of returning to Miami.

Perfect for fans of John Sanford and Robert Crais

While all of the novels in the Matt Royal Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Blood Island
Wyatt’s Revenge
Bitter Legacy
Collateral Damage
Fatal Decree
Found
Chasing Justice
Mortal Dilemma
Vindication


Praise For Fatal Decree: A Matt Royal Mystery

“A mixture of straight-ahead action and laid-back John D. MacDonald–style narrative . . . Matt Royal is definitely a hero in the Travis McGee mold.” —Booklist

“This is a great investigative thriller with action that never stops. Every time one thing is solved, a new ‘clue’ arrives that completely transforms the face of the original case. Written by a superb writer who is the mind behind Wyatt’s Revenge, H. Terrell Griffin has once again hit it out of the park!” —Suspense Magazine

“As comfortable as old clothes, yet relentlessly suspenseful and constantly surprising, Mr. Griffin’s latest in the Matt Royal Mystery Series confirms his place as a worthy heir to the John D. MacDonald tradition.” —Florida Weekly

Praise for the Matt Royal Mystery Series

Bitter Legacy is another solid cruise in the sun with H. Terrell Griffin. This story takes you in and holds you to the very last page. I enjoyed the ride!” —Michael Connelly, New York Times best-selling author

“Witty, smart and highly entertaining. An intriguing mix of hopes and fears that combine into a pulse-pounding treat.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author

“Welcome to the world of Matt Royal, the fun-loving beach bum lawyer who is as tough and smart as any character in modern American fiction.” ―Randy Wayne White, New York Times best-selling author

“Full of Florida flavor and spiced with tension and humor.” ―James O. Born, New York Times best-selling author

“This is an entertaining mystery . . . reminiscent of John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee novels, with a dash of Lee Child's Jack Reacher thrown in for good measure.” —Booklist

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608090709, 336pp.

Publication Date: January 15, 2013



About the Author

H. Terrell Griffin, a former trial lawyer and soldier, is the award-winning and best-selling author of the Matt Royal Mystery Series set on the Florida Gulf Coast island of Longboat Key, and Vindication, set in The Villages of Central Florida. His novels have repeatedly been compared to John D. MacDonald for their setting, character, and style. Fatal Decree joins the Longboat Key series of Blood Island, Wyatt’s Revenge, Bitter Legacy, Collateral Damage, Found, Chasing Justice, and Mortal Dilemma.