Skip to main content


A Matt Royal Mystery

H. Terrell Griffin


List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (8/18/2015)


Best-Selling and Award-Winning Author

Sleepy Longboat Key comes alive with multiple crimes

The quiet of Longboat Key, Florida, is shattered when an old man is shot to death and his murderer is killed while fleeing the police. Strange documents in German and Arabic are found in the killer's car, then an old friend of the murdered man disappears.

The island's only detective, Jennifer Diane (J.D.) Duncan receives a text message with a picture taken that morning of a college friend whom she thought was dead. Matt Royal and J.D. are pursued by men who would do them harm, and Matt's best friend, Jock Algren, a shadowy operative of the U.S. government's most secretive intelligence agency, comes to visit the island.

As the mystery deepens, a ragtag group of devious and dangerous characters intrudes on the lives of the islanders, creating a kind of havoc unusual for a sun-splashed island full of retirees and beach bums.

Matt, J.D., and Jock rush to find the answer to why one old man was killed and another disappeared, the meaning of the photo sent to J.D. of her almost surely dead college friend, and why somebody is trying to kill them.

Perfect for fans of Robert Parker and John Sanford

While all of the novels in the Matt Royal Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Blood Island
Wyatt’s Revenge
Bitter Legacy
Collateral Damage
Fatal Decree
Chasing Justice
Mortal Dilemma

Praise For Found: A Matt Royal Mystery

“Witty, smart and highly entertaining. An intriguing mix of hopes and fears that combine into a pulse-pounding treat.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author

“Take a tough female cop, a witty and charming retired lawyer, toss in a host of quirky Floridians, and, oh yeah, a murder that on the surface makes no sense, and you have Griffin’s Found.” —D. P. Lyle, Macavity Award-winning and best-selling author

“Expect jaw-dropping revelations to make for an unforgettable climax.” —Library Journal

“This is an entertaining mystery . . . reminiscent of John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee novels, with a dash of Lee Child's Jack Reacher thrown in for good measure.” —Booklist

Praise for the Matt Royal Mystery Series

Bitter Legacy is another solid cruise in the sun with H. Terrell Griffin. This story takes you in and holds you to the very last page. I enjoyed the ride!” —Michael Connelly, New York Times best-selling author

“Welcome to the world of Matt Royal, the fun-loving beach bum lawyer who is as tough and smart as any character in modern American fiction.” ―Randy Wayne White, New York Times best-selling author

“Full of Florida flavor and spiced with tension and humor.” ―James O. Born, New York Times best-selling author

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608090990, 325pp.

Publication Date: November 19, 2013

About the Author

H. Terrell Griffin, a former trial lawyer and soldier, is the award-winning and best-selling author of the Matt Royal Mystery Series set on the Florida Gulf Coast island of Longboat Key, and Vindication, set in The Villages of Central Florida. His novels have repeatedly been compared to John D. MacDonald for their setting, character, and style. Found joins the Longboat Key series of Blood Island, Wyatt’s Revenge, Bitter Legacy, Collateral Damage, Fatal Decree, Chasing Justice, and Mortal Dilemma.