Skip to main content
Cover for The Comfort of Black

The Comfort of Black

A Novel

Carter Wilson

Hardcover

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (9/13/2016)

Description

USA Today Best-selling Author

Winner of the National Indie Excellence Award

Winner of the International Book Award

Winner of the Colorado Book Award

Hannah and Dallin Parks seem to have everything—But what Dallin reveals in his sleep one night changes everything


Though they seem to have everything, Hannah Parks has watched her husband, Dallin, become increasingly distant. Her hope is buoyed when the couple decides to start a family, but what Dallin reveals in his sleep one night rocks Hannah to her core.

As she starts to investigate a much darker side of Dallin than she ever knew existed, Hannah peels away the layers of a diseased relationship closely tied to her own abusive past. When Dallin attempts to have Hannah abducted, she is forced to run, doing so with the aid of a man named Black—an ex-con and expert at helping people disappear.

Together they must keep Hannah safe from her husband's far-reaching grasp, all the while trying to solve the mystery behind Dallin's sudden violence. Does Hannah's dark family history hold the key to her survival?

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Dennis Lehane


Praise For The Comfort of Black: A Novel

* “Wilson's third novel [The Comfort of Black] takes off at breakneck speed and doesn't stop until its jolting conclusion. Gritty, unflinching, and sometimes violent, this thriller is reminiscent of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and the television series The Equalizer.” —Library Journal (Starred Review)

* “Carter is extremely good at creating a series of shattering, Philip K. Dickian revelations that would rock anyone’s personal security.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)“From the very first shocking, irreverent and chilling line you know The Comfort of Black is anything but your average thriller. It's an exemplary thriller. A knock-your-socks-off- thriller.” —M.J. Rose, New York Times best-selling author

“Wilson is right up there—if not beyond—James Patterson and Stephen King. The Comfort of Black is edgy, completely absorbing, and a definite must read by all.” —The U.S. Review of Books

Praise for Carter Wilson

* “[In Revelation,] Wilson infuses his terrifying plot with intricate twists and turns, all totally credible.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“This is a sledgehammer of a novel, slamming away at the foundations of modern cult religions until nothing is left but rubble to be carted away.” —Booklist

Revelation is an exquisite story of psychological control and suspense that is both thought-provoking and visceral in its impact, and it will keep you awake far into the night.” —The Oklahoman

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608091294, 288pp.

Publication Date: August 4, 2015



About the Author

Carter Wilson is the USA Today and #1 Denver Post best-selling author of psychological thrillers. A four-time winner of the Colorado Book Award, he has received numerous awards for his novels and multiple starred reviews in Publishers Weekly and Library Journal. The Comfort of Black is his third novel, followed by Revelation and preceded by The Boy in the Woods and Final Crossing. Carter lives in Colorado with his two children.