Skip to main content
Cover for Method 15/33

Method 15/33

Shannon Kirk

Paperback

List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (7/6/2015)
Hardcover (5/5/2015)

Description

USA Today Best-Selling Author

Benjamin Franklin Gold Medal Winner

National Indie Excellence Award Winner

Kidnapped, pregnant teen plots a calculating escape and merciless revenge


Imagine a helpless, pregnant 16-year-old who's just been yanked from the serenity of her home and shoved into a dirty van. Kidnapped . . . Alone . . . Terrified.

Now forget her . . .

Picture instead a pregnant, 16-year-old, manipulative prodigy. She is shoved into a dirty van and, from the first moment of her kidnapping, feels a calm desire for two things: to save her unborn child and to exact merciless revenge.

She is methodical—calculating—scientific in her plotting. A clinical sociopath? Leaving nothing to chance, secure in her timing and practice, she waits—for the perfect moment to strike. Method 15/33 is what happens when the victim is just as cold as her abductors.

The agents searching for a kidnapped girl have their own frustrations and desires wrapped into this chilling drama. In the twists of intersecting stories, one is left to ponder. Who is the victim? Who is the aggressor?

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Jeffrey Deaver


Praise For Method 15/33

“Completely original and totally kick ass! Shannon Kirk pulls no punches in this adrenaline rush of a thriller where the victim is the one to watch, while the kidnappers learn to fear. Loved it!” —Lisa Gardner, New York Times best-selling author


Method 15/33 is crowded with fascinating characters but the standout is the kidnapped pregnant teenager. Her captors want her baby. Little do they know they've brought an insanely brilliant, angry, vengeful, borderline sociopath under their roof.” —F. Paul Wilson, New York Times best-selling author


* “In Kirk’s harrowing first novel, a kidnap victim—16 years old and pregnant—meticulously plots her escape . . . This exciting tale builds to a surprising climax.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)


* “Nietzsche warned us to beware of people with a strong desire to punish. That thought lingers after putting down this dark, disturbing, damnably readable novel . . . a worthy challenge, a joy to discuss . . .” —Booklist (Starred Review)


* “Give this to teens who read Stephen King and other psychological thrillers, especially those with a penchant for dark and violent suspense.” —School Library Journal (Starred Review)


“Shannon Kirk’s riveting debut novel, Method 15/33, features kidnapped pregnant teen Lisa Yyland. Readers will see parallels between Lisa and Lisbeth Salander from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, both victims who refuse to be victimized . . . Welcome a thrilling new voice in crime fiction.” —The Boston Globe


“Wow. Ridiculously good. Crazy good. Brilliantly heart-stoppingly nail-bitingly original, this is a true thriller tour de force. Shannon Kirk is an instant star.” —Hank Philippi Ryan, Anthony, Agatha, and Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author


“What happens when infant traffickers kidnap the wrong pregnant teen? You get Method 15/33, a cross between The Lovely Bones and Silence of the Lambs. Shannon’s debut thriller is a dark, literate page-turner, utterly compelling.” —Leonard Rosen, award-winning author


“Kidnapped, close to death, and about to give birth, this thriller’s brilliant and slightly sociopathic protagonist is determined not only to save herself and her baby, but also to exact a horrible revenge on her captors. A gripping, unsettling work with a young woman who is unrelenting in her single-minded pursuit of her mission.” —Best Adult Books 4 Teens, School Library Journal


Method 15/33 takes us to some very dark places, and at times, we can’t help but wonder whose soul is the darker—the captor’s or the captive’s . . .” —Mystery Scene


“Shannon Kirk’s brilliant Method 15/33 . . . delivers, big-time . . . Kirk’s choice of protagonist for this crime thriller is utter gold . . . Method 15/33 is a solid winner.” —Foreword Reviews

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608091867, 258pp.

Publication Date: June 14, 2016



About the Author

Best-selling author Shannon Kirk is a practicing attorney and a law professor. She attended West Virginia Wesleyan and St. John’s Universities, is a graduate of Suffolk Law School, and was a trial lawyer in Chicago prior to moving to Massachusetts. Her novels have won numerous awards and Method 15/33, her debut novel, has been translated into more than 20 languages. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, a physicist, and their son.