Skip to main content


Manhattan Lockdown

A Novel

Paul Batista

Hardcover

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (7/18/2017)
Paperback (3/7/2016)

Description

USA Today Best-Selling Author

Terrorists’ bombs explode in the Metropolitan Museum of Art


A birthday party on a beautiful summer Sunday afternoon on the roof garden of the Metropolitan Museum of Art; the guest of honor, Roland Fortune, mayor of New York City.

Suddenly multiple explosions rock the entire building. This is not an accident, not a gas leak, but a heinous act of terrorism. Among the injured is the mayor himself, and although he survives, the woman he loves does not. And the terrorism does not stop there. As the city’s other iconic sites are targeted, the mayor throws Manhattan into lockdown.

In the chaos that ensues, law enforcement groups converge on New York City. The FBI, Homeland Security, the armed forces, even the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the President, come to the aid of the New York City Police Department.

Amidst this massive joint effort, only New York City Police Commissioner Gina Carbone is closing in on the terrorists. Her tactics well outside legal bounds, her cell operating in total secrecy, Carbone takes vigilantism to a new level. Will her illicit actions succeed—or plunge the city into further catastrophe?

Perfect for fans of Nelson DeMille’s John Corey

While Manhattan Lockdown is a standalone novel, here is the publication order of Paul Batista’s legal thrillers:

Death’s Witness
Extraordinary Rendition
The Borzoi Killings
(Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #1)
Manhattan Lockdown
The Warriors
(Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #2)
Accusation (Raquel Rematti Legal Thriller Series #3) —coming in March 2022


Praise For Manhattan Lockdown: A Novel

“Batista knows his way around Manhattan and it shows in this battle of wills, where the tension and turmoil add up to high-stakes suspense, the pages hot enough to singe your fingers.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author


“From its literally explosive first pages through its literally explosive last pages, Manhattan Lockdown brings us into a battle for the streets of Manhattan as the city’s most treasured icons are blown apart by terrorists.” —Lis Wiehl, New York Times best-selling author


“Paul Batista's provocative tale of a game-changing terrorist attack in New York City is both a superb procedural thriller and stark morality tale that asks how far are we willing to go to stay safe.” —Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author


“This terrific book takes the reader into an all-out battle for the mean streets of Manhattan as some of the worlds most treasured and recognized symbols are blown sky high by terrorists. Police Commissioner Carbone bursts onto the scene as the most frightening and unforgettable character in modern suspense/thrillers.” —Suspense Magazine


Manhattan Lockdown may well be this summer’s thriller. Its fast-moving plot not only provides entertainment, but will make you think, ‘Could this really happen?’” —San Francisco Book Review


“. . . a suspenseful look at a plausible scenario.” —Publishers Weekly


“A solid thriller that will keep action-craving readers interested.” —Booklist


Praise for Paul Batista

“Slide over John Grisham and Scott Turow and make room on your narrow bench for Paul Batista to join you as a fellow top legal thriller author.” —Killer Nashville


The Warriors is immaculately plotted, as you’d expect of such a credentialed author. So for maximum enjoyment, focus on the courtroom and crime action, and let the wild ride carry this thriller.” —New York Journal of Books


“Powerful courtroom scenes and well-drawn characters are pluses…fans of TV commentator Batista won’t want to miss [The Warriors] this one.” —Publishers Weekly


“A real pleasure here is the literate language in the courtroom clashes, plus electric scenes stolen by diminutive, ancient judge Naomi Goldstein.” —Booklist

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608091973, 336pp.

Publication Date: July 19, 2016



About the Author

USA Today best-selling author Paul Batista is also a criminal defense lawyer, a TV personality, and the author of Civil RICO Practice Manual, the leading book on the federal racketeering statute. Manhattan Lockdown is the fourth of his six thriller novels, following Death’s Witness, Extraordinary Rendition, and The Borzoi Killings, and preceding Manhattan Lockdown and Accusation. Batista is a veteran of the United States Army and lives in Sag Harbor and New York City, NY.