Skip to main content
Cover for Gumshoe for Two (Mortimer Angel Mystery #2)

Gumshoe for Two (Mortimer Angel Mystery #2)

Rob Leininger

Hardcover

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (3/20/2018)

Description

USA Today best-selling author

A hooker who’s not a hooker—a hand without a body—what’s next for Mort?

Ex-IRS agent turned gumshoe-in-training, Mortimer Angel, is approached by a beautiful hooker, Holiday, in a casino bar in Reno.

Mort first met Holiday two months ago, but now learns that she’s not really a hooker. She’s a college engineering student, searching for her younger sister, Allie, who disappeared three months ago.

Having seen Mort in the news, Holiday knows he’s a PI who finds missing persons. While in the bar with Mort, Holiday gets an unexpected phone call from Allie who says she’s in Gerlach, a small town in Nevada.

The call is cut off. Holiday hires Mort on the spot, dragging him off to Gerlach. On the way out of town, Mort picks up a FedEx disturbing package.

When Mort finds a connection between Allie and US Senator Harry “Liar” Reinhart, a presidential candidate who vanished without a trace three days ago, things quickly turn deadly—very deadly.

The perfect mix of John Sanford and Carl Hiaasen

While all of the novels in the Mortimer Angel Gumshoe Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Gumshoe
Gumshoe for Two
Gumshoe on the Loose
Gumshoe Rock
Gumshoe in the Dark
(coming June 2021)


Praise For Gumshoe for Two (Mortimer Angel Mystery #2)

Praise for the Mortimer Angel Gumshoe Series

“The Mort Angel books are instant PI classics–smart, slick, charming, and highly recommended.” ―Lee Child, New York Times best-selling author

“Rob Leininger captures the voice and heart of the classic PI mystery and manages to make it completely original at the same time—Mortimer Angel is my new favorite Private Eye.” —John Lescroart, New York Times best-selling author

“Outstanding! From its opening line to its satisfying denouement, Rob Leininger's Gumshoe in the Dark is a tightly plotted, deftly executed, wickedly funny, and wildly entertaining story. Find a comfortable chair and enjoy a ride through the backroads of Nevada.” —Sheldon Siegel, New York Times best-selling author

Gumshoe, the first in the series, was a Shamus nominee, and the author continues to develop Mort’s character and his snappy repartee. Readers who loved Robert B. Parker’s Spenser or Matt Goldman’s Nils Shapiro will appreciate the humor and investigative work in this outstanding example of the PI novel.” —Library Journal (Starred Review)

“A stunning bit of bravura writing.” —Booklist

Gumshoe Rock is a knock-your-socks-off mystery with a healthy dose of graveyard humor.” —Foreword Reviews

“Fans of Travis McGee hungry for red-meat private-eye adventure will tune out the mystery and focus on the hero’s effortlessly self-confident sex appeal, superhuman physical strength, and nice way with dialogue.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Rob Leininger’s attention to philosophical detail mirrors my own: Bad often begets good. Witty humor softens grisly crime scene descriptions, making Mort my go-to gumshoe. Gumshoe Rock rocks!” —Bookreporter

“Once this novel is picked up, the reader will be reluctant to put it down . . . bring on the next adventure, Mr. Leininger. We’ll be waiting!” ―New York Journal of Books

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608092321, 368pp.

Publication Date: April 5, 2017



About the Author

USA Today best-selling author Rob Leininger grew up in California prior to joining the Navy. Leininger served aboard heavy cruisers during the Vietnam War and also at McMurdo Station in Antarctica. He received a mechanical engineering degree from the University of Nevada, Reno, and worked on Trident missiles for Hercules, and “black” defense projects for Northrop Corp.

Gumshoe for Two is the second novel in Leininger’s Gumshoe Series, featuring PI Mortimer Angel. Gumshoe, the first in the series, was nominated for the Shamus Award for Best PI Novel and was a finalist for the Foreword Book of the Year Award. Gumshoe on the Loose, Gumshoe Rock, and Gumshoe in the Dark follow Gumshoe for Two in the series. Leininger lives with his wife in northwest Montana.