Broken Ground (The Jay Porter Series ) (Hardcover)

By Joe Clifford

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608092437, 1pp.

Publication Date: June 5, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (5/14/2019)

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


• Fourth in Joe Clifford’s Jay Porter Series

• Jay Porter is a flawed handyman struggling to keep his life together while standing up to forces he perceives as evil

• The author is a former homeless heroin addict—now the father of two boys, and an MFA graduate; his authenticity is unquestionable

• Author has been compared to Dennis Lehane, Don Winslow and Paula Hawkins

• Will appeal to readers who appreciate deeply flawed characters fighting to walk the righteous path

• Very atmospheric setting in rural New Hampshire

• Timely topic within the political scene and dissatisfaction with the state of American politics

• The plot line borrows from the real-life criminal case involving former Trump campaign manager Paul Manafort

• As with all Jay Porter books, themes of addiction, recovery, and the elusive search for the American dream are prevalent

• The novel is a topical examination of the failure of the War on Drugs

Lamentation, the first book in the Jay Porter series, was nominated for an Anthony Award for Best Novel

• The Jay Porter novels have had favorable reviews from Publishers Weekly (starred), Library Journal, Mystery Scene Magazine, San Francisco Chronicle, Midwest Book Review, and many others

• The Jay Porter novels have blurbs from many best-selling authors. Among them James Grady, Robert Dugoni, Sheldon Siegel, David Corbett, James Hall, Allan Leverone, Sara Henry, Reed Farrel Coleman, Eileen Cook, and others

• Author is a frequent speaker at conferences, libraries, and book events

• Author has a large following in the San Francisco Bay area and Connecticut

• Author’s personal story of addiction, living on the streets, and recovery is poignant and a popular platform for widespread publicity

Give Up The Dead book trailer:

About the Author

A former homeless junkie, Joe Clifford has dedicated his life to education and the craft of writing and helping other ex-junkies find a voice and a platform for their creative energies. He is a graduate of Central Connecticut State University and holds an MFA degree from Florida International University. He is the acquisitions editor for Gutter Books and the producer of Lip Service West, a gritty reading series in Oakland, California. Clifford is the author of several acclaimed books—two of which were Anthony Award nominees: Lamentation, his first novel in the Jay Porter series, and his anthology (editor) Trouble in the Heartland. Broken Ground is the fourth novel in his Jay Porter series. In all his Jay Porter novels, Clifford uses the backdrop of drug abuse to shine a light on the misunderstood and marginalized, while weaving personal tragedies into narratives that compel and transcend as well as entertain. Clifford lives with his wife, Justine, and two sons in the San Francisco Bay Area.