Tie Die (A Colleen Hayes Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

By Max Tomlinson

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608093434, 320pp.

Publication Date: September 8, 2020

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

When the music stopped, it was murder
 
Back in London’s swinging '60s, Steve Cook was teen idol number one. But that changed when a sixteen-year-old fan was found dead in his hotel room bed. Steve’s career came to a crashing halt after he was dumped by his record company and arrested. Now, in 1978 San Francisco, Steve works construction, still dreaming of a comeback.
      Until his eleven-year-old daughter is kidnapped.
      Steve turns to one person for help: Colleen Hayes. She was quite a fan herself, back in the day. And she knows what it’s like to be on the wrong side of the law and live in judgement for the rest of your life.
      It doesn’t take Colleen long to realize something fishy is going on with the kidnapping of Melanie Cook. What transpires is a harrowing journey through a music industry rife with corruption and crime. Colleen’s search takes her through San Francisco’s underbelly and all the way to '70s London, where she discovers a thread leading back to the death of a forgotten fan in Steve’s hotel room.
 
Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben’s noir suspense


About the Author

 
USA Today best-selling author Max Tomlinson was born in San Francisco. With the Bay Area’s rich literary history and a public transport system teeming with characters suitable for crime novels, the stage was set for Max to become a mystery writer. In addition, his time abroad has inspired a variety of flavors in his writing. His published work includes a crime series set in South America, an international espionage series, and now the Colleen Hayes Mystery Series, set in 1970s San Francisco. Tie Die is the second novel in the series, following the acclaimed Vanishing in the Haight.


Praise For Tie Die (A Colleen Hayes Mystery #2)

“Tomlinson's evocation of San Francisco at that time is spot on, and Colleen is an appealing kick-ass detective.” —Booklist


Praise for the Colleen Hayes Mystery Series 

“As beautifully written as it is expertly crafted, [the series] features characters drawn with the touch of a master artist and a story that sizzles even as it scintillates.” —Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author


“Atmospheric and tense, this one sizzles with twists that entertain and magnetize, whetting the appetite for more. Can’t wait for Book 2.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author


“I’ve just three words to say about [Vanishing in the Haight] by Max Tomlinson—Wow. Just. Wow. Tomlinson’s taut, spare, evocative writing style is an absolute beauty. You couldn’t ask for a better guide through the dark, shadowy flashback haze of ‘70s San Francisco.” —Tracy Clark, author of Broken Places


​“Max Tomlinson serves up the perfect mystery in this edgy new detective series set in ’70s San Francisco. Colleen Hayes, an ex-con in search of her missing teenage daughter, finally lands her first big case. There’s just one problem: she must find a killer who’s been lurking since the Summer of Love. Not to be missed.” —James N. Frey, author of How to Write a Damn Good Thriller


“Max Tomlinson delivers a gritty, gripping story set in a fascinating time. Colleen Hayes is a deeply sympathetic sleuth, all too human. I can’t wait for her next adventure.” —Evan Marshall, author of City in Shadow