Dark Rhapsody (A Maggie O'Shea Mystery #2) (Paperback)

By Helaine Mario

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608093519, 336pp.

Publication Date: July 16, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (7/3/2018)

List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and Iris Johannsen.

In 1945, an Austrian girl discovers a priceless Nazi treasure near a remote alpine lake and sets in motion a decades-old secret that will change lives for generations to come.

Many years later, classical pianist Maggie O’Shea is preparing her return to the world of music. Instead, a nightmare of a haunting rhapsody and hundreds of roses from a deranged stalker propel her into a world of terror. Forces drive her to revisit the mystery of her mother’s death, her father’s startling disappearance, and a terrible secret from World War II. Maggie finds herself on a collision course with a brutal, disfigured killer who threatens those she holds dear—an aging pianist with a long-buried secret, a haunted cellist, a charismatic Maestro, and the crusty retired colonel she has come to love.

Chord by chord, Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody becomes the heart of this story of profound loss, courage and love. Music tells our stories ...



About the Author

Best-selling author Helaine Mario grew up in New York City and is a graduate of Boston University. A passionate advocate for women's and children's issues, she has served on many nonprofit boards while residing in Washington, DC. Her first Maggie O'Shea mystery, The Lost Concerto, won the Benjamin Franklin Award Silver Medal. Dark Rhapsody is her third novel. Helaine and her husband, Ron, live in Arlington, Virginia.



Praise For Dark Rhapsody (A Maggie O'Shea Mystery #2)

Praise for Dark Rhapsody:

"From Manhattan and Washington to Vienna and Salzburg, Dark Rhapsody by Helaine Mario takes the reader on a suspense-rich journey into a violent collision of the worlds of lost art, famous musicians, and international politics. Mario writes with the soul of poet, painting her characters and scenes with deft touches of insight and wit. Her heroine, Maggie O’Shea, will burrow into your heart. Dark Rhapsody is that rare novel—a story that’s a page-turner and a deeply felt character study.”—Gayle Lynds, New York Times best-selling author

“As much about art as music, [Dark Rhapsody] reveals the transformative power of both.”—Library Journal

“Romantic suspense fans will find much to like.”—Publishers Weekly

“Mario hooks you with layers of mysteries almost completely enough to overcome the sentimentality seeping out between perils.”—Kirkus Reviews

Dark Rhapsody by Helaine Mario is a book not to be missed. My only complaint is that it ended! I wanted this marvelous work to go on and on.”—BookLoons

Praise for The Lost Concerto:

“Music is not just backdrop here but also a character that permeates Maggie’s life. With the help of a vigilant retired colonel and bolstered by the transformative power of classical music, Maggie finds what has been lost, including herself. Brava!”—Library Journal (Starred Review)

“Maggie becomes ensnared in a perilous game of cat and mouse that moves between France and America and brings her into contact with murderers, terrorists, and CIA agents. Musical artifacts and stolen art also figure in the action, which builds to a highly satisfying resolution...fans of romantic thrillers will be enthralled.”—Publishers Weekly

"Skeletons bang on closet doors, longing to be set free and free they are in this terrific mix of mystery and mayhem. Every page is fraught with danger and surprise. A true banquet for thriller readers."—Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author

“If you love classical music, a challenging thriller, a twisting mystery, and complex characters, The Lost Concerto is for you. Helaine Mario proves it’s never too late to write a great novel. Lushly layered, full of evocative prose and surprises, and wonderfully told, this one’s a must-read. I couldn’t put it down.”—J.T. Ellison, New York Times best-selling author

“Richly atmospheric, excellent can't-put-it-down pacing, enticing and compelling characters. Really terrific story telling. A perfect package—a stunning debut!”—M.J. Rose, New York Times best-selling author

"Simmering just below the dark and turbulent surface of The Lost Concerto is a sense of secret joy that makes it a thriller like no other. With her gift for confident, intelligent storytelling, Helaine Mario transforms the gritty subjects of murder and international terror into matters of the heart. The Lost Concerto is radiant."—Laura Benedict

"With a musician’s attention to the emotions that help us create a picture of our world, Helaine Mario weaves imagery with a thrilling plot."—Foreword Reviews

- -