Skip to main content


Off the Grid (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #2)

Robert McCaw

Hardcover

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (8/25/2020)

Description

Kilauea’s smoldering lava fields—a unique place to bury the bodies

A scrap of cloth fluttering in the wind leads Hilo police Chief Detective Koa Kāne to the tortured remains of an unfortunate soul left to burn in the path of an advancing lava flow. For Koa, it’s the second gruesome homicide of the day, and he soon discovers the murders are linked. These grisly crimes on Hawai‘i’s Big Island could rewrite history—or cost Chief Detective Koa Kane his career.

The dead, a reclusive couple living off the grid, turn out to be mysterious fugitives. The CIA, the Chinese government, and the Defense Intelligence Agency attempt to thwart Koa’s investigation and obscure the victims’ true identities. Undeterred by mounting political pressure, Koa pursues the truth only to find himself drawn into a web of international intrigue.

While Koa investigates, the Big Island scrambles to prepare for the biggest and most explosive political rally in its history. Despite police resources stretched to the breaking point, Koa uncovers a government conspiracy so shocking its exposure topples senior officials far beyond Hawai‘i’s shores.

Perfect for fans of James Lee Burke’s Dave Robicheaux

While all of the novels in the Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Off the Grid
Fire and Vengeance
Death of a Messenger
Treachery Times Two
(coming January 2022)


Praise For Off the Grid (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #2)

“This one sizzles with tension and twists that entertain and magnetize. Danger and drama abide, with a wonderful, devil-may-care hero. Robert McCaw has the touch.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author


“In Off the Grid, Robert McCaw has fashioned the year's most original mystery-thriller set, appropriately enough, in the equally original setting of Hawaii. He crafts a relentlessly riveting tale that races out of the gate and never lets up for a single minute or page.” —Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author


“Readers who crave watching a smart cop work in a crackerjack police procedural will find a beauty here. Want a good espionage adventure? It's here, too, with intrigue, betrayal, assassination.” —Booklist (Starred Review)


Off the Grid is flush with action and vivid descriptions. This unputdownable book is sure to make a mark in the literary world.” —New York Journal of Books


“Slices of island history and culture, bursts of volcanology, and descriptions of the island’s lush and singular flora and fauna pad the narrative. Those fascinated by Hawaii will best appreciate this one.” —Publishers Weekly


“. . . interesting local details and a crackling pace.” —Kirkus Reviews


“Moves with volcanic force to a heartfelt, gripping conclusion.” —Rick Mofina, USA Today best-selling author

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608093618, 304pp.

Publication Date: July 2, 2019



About the Author

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family, traveling the world. He is a graduate of Georgetown University, served as a U.S. Army lieutenant, and earned a law degree from the University of Virginia. He was a partner in a major international law firm in Washington, D.C. and New York City, representing major Wall Street clients in complex civil and criminal cases. Having lived on the Big Island of Hawaiʻi, McCaw imbues his writing of the Islands with his more than 20-year love affair with this Pacific paradise. Off the Grid follows Death of a Messenger in his Koa Kāne Hawaiian Mystery Series and is followed by Fire and Vengeance. Bob now lives in New York City with his wife, Calli.