Off the Grid (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

By Robert McCaw

Oceanview Publishing, 9781608093618, 304pp.

Publication Date: July 2, 2019

List Price: 26.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Perfect for fans of James Lee Burke’s Dave Robicheaux

A scrap of cloth fluttering in the wind leads Hilo police Chief Detective Koa Kane to the tortured remains of an unfortunate soul left to burn in the path of an advancing lava flow. For Koa, it’s the second gruesome homicide of the day, and he soon discovers the murders are linked. These grisly crimes on Hawaii’s Big Island could rewrite history—or cost Chief Detective Koa Kane his career.The dead, a reclusive couple living off the grid, turn out to be mysterious fugitives. The CIA, the Chinese government, and the Defense Intelligence Agency, attempt to thwart Koa’s investigation and obscure the victims’ true identities. Undeterred by mounting political pressure, Koa pursues the truth only to find himself drawn into a web of international intrigue.While Koa investigates, the Big Island scrambles to prepare for the biggest and most explosive political rally in its history. Despite police resources stretched to the breaking point, Koa uncovers a government conspiracy so shocking its exposure topples senior officials far beyond Hawaii’s shores.


About the Author

Robert McCaw grew up in a military family traveling the world. After graduating from Georgetown University, he served as a lieutenant in the US Army before earning his law degree from the University of Virginia. After law school he spent a year as a judicial clerk for Supreme Court Justice Hugo L. Black. Thereafter, he was a partner in a major international law firm with offices in Washington, DC, and New York City, representing clients in complex civil and criminal cases.For a number of years, McCaw has maintained a home on the Big Island of Hawaii, studying its history, culture, and people. In researching this book, he consulted with Hawaii County cops and walked the streets, courthouse corridors, and parks where much of this story takes place. Over the past twenty years he has hiked extensively in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and roamed the back roads around nearby Volcano Village, where colorful characters living off the grid abound. Off the Grid is his second Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery. Bob lives with his wife, Calli, who is a photographer, in New York City.



Praise For Off the Grid (Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #1)

“Readers who crave watching a smart cop work in a crackerjack police procedural will find a beauty here. Want a good espionage adventure? It's here, too, with intrigue, betrayal, assassination.”—Booklist (*starred review)

“In Off the Grid, Robert McCaw has fashioned the year's most original mystery-thriller set, appropriately enough, in the equally original setting of Hawaii. He crafts a relentlessly riveting tale that races out of the gate and never lets up for a single minute or page.”—Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author

“This one sizzles with tension and twists that entertain and magnetize. Danger and drama abide, with a wonderful, devil-may-care hero. Robert McCaw has the touch.”—Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author

“Slices of island history and culture, bursts of volcanology, and descriptions of the island’s lush and singular flora and fauna pad the narrative. Those fascinated by Hawaii will best appreciate this one.”—Publishers Weekly

Off the Grid is flush with action and vivid descriptions. This unputdownable book is sure to make a mark in the literary world.”—New York Journal of Books

- -